26 August 2003

Kenya: Konzolo is Dropped From Industrial Development Bank

Nairobi — Stockbroker Jos Konzolo has been fired from the board of Industrial Development Bank in a major reshuffle of parastatals under the ministry of Trade and Industry.

Mr Konzolo, sacked last year as the Managing Trustee of the National Social Security Fund, has been replaced by Mr Jimnah Mbaru, the chairman of the Association of Kenya Stockbrokers (AKS).

Mr Mbaru will be joined on the board by Nairobi architect David Situma on a three-year tenure. Mr Situma is a principal partner at Kenchuan Architects. Mr Konzolo is also a former chairman of AKS.

Both Mr Konzolo and Mr Mbaru flopped in their bids to enter Parliament last December. Mr Konzolo vied for the Shinyalu seat on a Kanu ticket while Mr Mbaru was Safina's candidate for Starehe.

Trade minister Mukhisa Kituyi, in the gazette notice dated August 15, also revoked the appointment of Ms Mary Wanjiru King'ara Kamara.

Dr Kituyi in the same notice appointed Mr Abung'ana Khasiani, Mr Elias Nkonge Birichi, Mr Philemon Mwaisaka and Lt-Gen (rtd) Augustine Cheruiyot to the Industrial and Commercial Development Corporation board.

He revoked that of Mr Dennis Rimber, Mr Clement Kanyang'onda, Mr Boniface Makau, Mr Misheck Lenkoina and Mr Tirop Koskei.

At the East African Portland Cement, Mr Sankale ole Kantai replaced Mr K. M. Kiptui Laremasubet.

Dr Reuben Indiazi Nasibi, Mr John Mwirichia, Mr Paul Lagat, Mr Charles Momanyi and Mr Henry Awori are the new members of the Kenya Industrial Estate board. They replaced Mr Peter Kones, Ms Elizabeth Masiga, Mr Peter Gachagua Nduru, Mr David O'Rioba and Dr Joseph Kiplagat.

At Kenya Wines Agency, Mr Njoka Muthani and Capt (rtd) Charles Masinde were appointed. The appointments of Mr Joseph Kiptorus and Mr Kiplagat Kotut were revoked.

Dr Andrew Tuimur, Prof Judy Wakhungu, Dr Kariba Muniu and Mr Arthur Akufa join the Kenya Bureau of Standards. Dr Grace Gatheri and Mr Kimaru Tirop have been removed.

At the Kenya Industrial Research and Development Institute, Mr H.S. Sagoo, Prof Elias Mbaka Njoka, Prof Peter Misiko, Prof Henry Maritim and Mr Robert Kochale joined the board. Mr Nyaringo Obure, Mr Francis Kigen, Paul King'olla, Dr William Thitai and Ms Jane Mwangi have been removed.

Mr Tofiq Mohamed, lawyer Muchai Lumatete, Mr Francis Mathenge Wanderi and Dr Mary Khimulu are the new directors at the Export Processing Zones. Dr Alice Maritim, Mr Hesbon Gondi, Prof Tumbo Oeri and and Mr Isaac Bett were removed.

Businessman Chris Kirubi, Mr Crispus Nyaga, Mr Hudson Aluvanze, Mr Alloys Opiyo and Mr Gachuru Wambugu join the Export Promotion Council.

Copyright © 2003 The Nation. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.