6 March 2006

Kenya: Kimosop Elected KVF Nairobi Branch Boss, Maveke Retained

Nairobi — Kenya Commercial Bank's (KCB) David Kimosop is the new Kenya Volleyball Federation (KVF) Nairobi branch chairman.

Kimosop was elected unopposed in the polls that were held at the Young Men Christian Association (YMCA) Hostels in Shauri Moyo on Saturday.

Kimosop takes over from outgoing chairman Waithaka Kioni who will be seeking the national post during the March 18 polls.

Joseph Kipngeno of Kenya Pipeline was also unopposed in the race for the 1st vice chairman seat.

Veteran volleyballer Dan Wanyama beat outgoing secretary general Maina Mathenge to the second vice chairman's seat.

Wanyama garnered 20 votes compared to Maina's nine.

Evans Wasike, an FIVB referee, was elected the secretary after beating Tom Ochola Menya of Telkom 25-4.

Moses Mbuthia was unopposed for as the treasurer's post. Long serving organising secretary Peter Mbogo lost 12-17 to Gideon Chenje of Kenya Prisons. Grace Wanguria and Susan Chemase were retained as the committee members.

In Mombasa, David Maveke was re-elected the chairman of the Coast Branch unopposed.

Maveke has been the branch chairman for the last eight years.

Nathan Nyabayo was elected first vice chairman after beating Ahaya Juma Ahaya 17-9, while Bernard Oduor won the second vice chairman's post 17-9 against George Kalama.

Former secretary Miduda Waweru retained her seat after defeating Ben Juma Chekechir 19-7 while Peter Karuri was elected the vice secretary unopposed.

In the hotly-contested treasurer's post, Emily Mbotela and Mwang'ombe Mathenge tied in the first round with 13 votes each before the chairman cast his vote for Mathenge.

Timothy Malili (assistant treasurer) and Patrick Lumumba (organising secretary) were elected unopposed.

Charles Mwigai and Bendict Juma were elected committee members.

In Nakuru, Kikemei Sirma retained the top seat during the KVF Central Rift branch elections in Nakuru.

Simon Wanyoike in the first vice-chairman while Michael Sakwa was elected second vice chairman.

Osinde retained the secretary's position after beating Edward Mwangi 21-0 votes. Geoffrey Kokoyo is the new assistant secretary after beating Hillary Busolo 21-0.

Others elected were Bernard Mukaisi (treasurer), Peter Orupia (organizing secretary), Robinson Ng'ang'a (organising secretary), Kibet Cheboi (assistant-treasurer) and Robinson Ng'ang'a (assistant organising- secretary).

Copyright © 2006 The East African Standard. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.