28 December 2007

Kenya: Vice President, Ministers Lose Parliamentary Seats

Nairobi — Vice President Hon Moody Awori and ministers Mutahi Kagwe, Pau Sang, Musikari Kombo and Moses Akaranga emerged as the early casualties as vote counting for the hotly contested elections continued countrywide.

Results broadcast on KTN showed Awori lost the Funyula parliamentary seat to the ODM candidate Dr Paul Otuoma, becoming the second time in Kenya's history for a VP to lose a parliamentary seat. In 2002, Vice President Mr Musalia Mudavadi lost to Mr Moses Akaranga of Narc, a few months after he was appointed by President Moi. Uncle Moody as he is popularly known, has been Member of Parliament for Funyula constituency for the last 25 years, although his grip on Funyula politics spans over 45 years

Ford -Kenya chairman and former Webuye MP, Musikari Kombo, has lost the seat to Alfred Sambu of ODM. Preliminary results indicated that Trade and Industry minister Dr Mukhisa Kituyi trailing.

Information and Communications minister Mutahi Kagwe has lost to former chairman of Nairobi Water and Sewerage Company Mr Kabando wa Kabando of Safina party. Kagwe initiated many development projects in his Mukurweini constituency, both through the CDF concept and from his own initiative and it will puzzle many people how his opponent, Kabando wa Kabando pulled the carpet from under his feet.

Health Minister Paul Sang has lost former State House Comptroller Mr Frankline Bett of ODM. Sang was appointed to the position just two months to the election after Kibaki's ally and Health Minister, Charity Ngilu, declared her support for ODM presidential candidate Mr Raila Odinga.

Other results show ODM Pentagon member and Raila Odinga's running mate, Mr Musalia Mudavadi, has trounced Public Service minister Moses Akaranga of PNU. Najib Balala has won the Mvita seat , beating former Mombasa mayor Taib Ali Taib.

Former Keiyo South MP and Kanu strongman Nicholas Biwott lost the seat to Mr Jackson Kiptanui of ODM. In Ugenya constituency, lawyer James Orengo will make a political come back after clinching the seat he lost in 2002.

However, ECK has not officially released the results. We will bring you more results as we get them.

Copyright © 2007 The East African Standard. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.