8 January 2008

Kenya: Kibaki Names Cabinet

Nairobi — President Mwai Kibaki has named a 17 member cabinet with ODM-Kenya leader Mr Kalonzo Musyoka as the Vice-President. Kibaki addressed the nation live on national broadcaster Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC).

Kibaki named the cabinet despite the existing political crisis over the disputed presidential elections of 27th December 2007.

Below is the full statement from the president.

Fellow Kenyans,

I am pleased to announce part of my Cabinet. In forming the Cabinet, I have considered the importance of keeping the country united, peaceful and prosperous under a strong, broad-based leadership. I am accordingly, naming the first half of my Cabinet as follows:

(1) Vice President and Minister for Home Affairs

Hon. Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka, MP

(2) Minister of State for Provincial Administration and Internal Security, Office of the President

Hon. Professor George Saitoti, MP

(3) Minister of State for Defence, Office of the President

Hon. Yussuf Mohamed Haji, MP

(4) Minister of State for Special Programmes, Office of the President

Hon. Dr. Naomi Namsi Shaban, MP

(5) Minister for Public Service, Office of the President

Hon. Asman Abongotum Kamama, MP

(6) Minister for Finance

Hon. Amos Muhinga Kimunya, MP

(7) Minister for Education

Hon. Professor Sam Ongeri, MP

(8) Minister for Foreign Affairs

Hon. Moses Wetangula, MP

(9) Minister for Local Government

Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta, MP

(10) Minister for Information and Communications

Hon. Samuel Lesuron Poghisio, MP

(11) Minister for Water and Irrigation

Hon. John Munyes, MP

(12) Minister for Energy

Hon. Kiraitu Murungi, MP

(13) Minister for Roads and Public Works

Hon. John Njoroge Michuki, MP

(14) Minister for Science and Technology

Hon. Noah M. Wekesa, MP

(15) Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs

Hon. Martha Karua, MP

(16) Minister for East African Community

Hon. Dr. Wilfred Machage, MP

(17) Minister for Transport

Hon. Chirau Ali Mwakwere, MP

The remaining ministerial portfolios will be announced in due course. Thank you.

MWAI KIBAKI, C.G.H., MP. President and Commander -In-Chief of the armed forces of the Republic of Kenya. Nairobi 8th January, 2008

Copyright © 2008 The East African Standard. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.