8 May 2008

South Africa: Winners of 2010 Design Competition to Be Announced

Cape Town — The City of Cape Town will on Thursday announce the winners of its 2010 Green Goal Mouille Point Student Landscape Design Competition.

As a one of the host cities of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, the city will announce the winners of the competition on Thursday at the Cape Town Hotel.

This is the first ever student competition in Cape Town, linked to the Green Goal programme of the forthcoming world cup.

Landscape design and architectural students from both the University of Cape Town (UCT) and Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) were invited to submit entries on how the Mouille Point promenade area could be suitably transformed prior to the world cup event.

The Mouille Point beachfront and promenade is an integral part of the Green Point Urban Park and it is the biggest urban space project in Cape Town.

It is also reported that the Urban Park will form the setting for the new world cup stadium.

The design brief required students to respond to the city's vision for the Green Point Common, which is to create a safe, spacious and aesthetic inner city park and recreation area providing a diversity of uses for its citizens.

The main objectives of the Green Goal programme are the greening of the world cup event footprint and leaving a positive environmental legacy.

With regard to minimising the footprint, the programme aims to meet measurable environmental protection targets over a number of areas, including waste minimisation and transportation.

These also include mobility, energy conservation and water use to significantly reduce the environmental impact of staging the event.

The inclusion of 2010 "Green Goal" principles such as biodiversity, "green building", mobility, water use and waste minimisation and recycling, was a stated requirement of the designs.

"Entries were submitted and adjudicated in April. The standard of entries was high and the winners showed significant talent," the city said in a statement.

On the panel of judges is Johan van Papendorp of OvP Associates Landscape Architects, Jake de Villiers Head of Department of Architectural Technology from CPUT, Councillors Marian Nieuwoudt, Ian Neilson and JP Smith.

Other judges include Mike Marsden, the city's Executive Director: Service Delivery Integration and Andrew Borraine, Chief Executive of the Cape Town Partnership.

Copyright © 2008 BuaNews. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.