23 September 2008

Nigeria: 70 Yar'Adua Aides Take Secrecy Oath

Principal Secretary to the President Mr. David Edevbie yesterday led seventy political aides of both President Umaru Musa Yar'adua and Vice President Goodluck Jonathan to take an Oath of Secrecy at the Presidential Villa in Abuja. It was said to be part of the administration's efforts to preserve civil service rules and regulations in the country.

The oath taking ceremony was held at the Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja. The oath of secrecy was administered by Justice Hussaini Yusuf of the High Court of Justice, Abuja.

Among those who swore to the secrecy oath were the President's Economic Adviser Dr. Tanimu Yakubu Kurfi, Special Adviser to the President on Communication Mr. Segun Adeniyi, Chief Physician to the President Dr. Barau Salisu Banye and Senator Mohammed Abba Aji, Special Adviser to the President on Assembly matters.

Others include Alhaji Yakubu Haruna, Special Adviser, Office of the First Lady, Personal Physician to the First Lady Dr. Abdulrasheed Yusuf, Dr. [Mrs] E. Austin Amadi, Personal Physician to Vice President's wife Mrs. Patience Jonathan, Captain Shehu Iyal, Senior Special Assistant on Aviation and Alhaji Inuwa Baba, the Senior Special Assistant on Protocol.

Mr. Mathew Aikhionbare, the SSAP Secretariat and Speech Writer to the President; Mr. Ad'obe Obe, Senior Special Assistant Servicom; Captain Usaini Bitrus Haruna, SSAP (PAF) to the President; Captain Baba Mohammed, SSAP (PAF), Captain Tunde Edorhe SSAP (PAF), Captain Ismaila Dahiru Waziri, SSAP (PAF) and Dr. Mrs Asma'u Abdulkadir, SSAP serving under the First Lady also took the secrecy oath.

Mr. Imam Niboro, the Senior Special Assistant on Media to the Vice President, Dr. Akilu Indabawa, SSAP (Political] to the Vice President, Dr. I fedora Amobi, SSAP National Development Matters to the Vice President; Mr. Oronto Douglas, SSAP on Research Documentation and Strategy; Barrister A. A. Gulak, SSAP (Legal and Constitutional Matters] to the Vice President and Mr. Femi Ajayi, SSAP on Development Cooperation to the Vice President also took the secrecy oath.

The Special Advisers to President Umaru Musa Yar'adua on President's Hous-ehold Mr. Hamzat Nadada; Mr. Peter Ohemu, SAP on Secretariat Duties, Mr. Ken Wiwa, Junior Special Assistant on International Affairs and Mr. Bolaji Adebiyi, Special Assistant on Political Matters to the President all subscribed to the oath.

Others were Mr. Nye Akachukwu Sullivan Nwankwo, Special Assistant to Vice President on Special Duties, Princess Aramide Gbadamosi, Special Assistant on Administration in the Office of the wife of Vice President, Alhaji Yakubu Aliyu, SAP on Economic Policy and Research to the Vice President, Esther Mary Oba SAP Household matters to the wife of the Vice President; Mrs. Moremi Soyinka Onilaja, SAP on Youth Programme Monitoring Implementation to the Vice President, Blessing Omoni-beke, SAP on Domestic matters, Mr. Azibanariolo Jonat-han, SAP Special Duties, Hon. Ibrahim Zailani, SAP on National Assembly, Dr. Ojougboh Cairo Godson, SAP on National Assembly and Mr. Yakubu Musa, SAP Office of Special Assistant on Media and Publicity,

Still others were Mr. Isa M. Charanchi, SAP Protocol to the First Lady, Hajiya Binta Aliyu, SAP Domestic Affairs to the First Lady, Alhaji Lawal Attahiru Bakori SAP (Press) to the First Lady; Special Assistant (PAF) to the President Engr.A.O.Adeneye, Engr. E.I.Ibegbu, Engr. K. A. Baba, Chief Purser M.Okoronkwo, Chief Purser P.E.Ogwunu, Senior Flt. Dispatcher J.B.Olotu and Principal Purser B. Ikpeme.

Other Special Assistants in the Office of Vice President who took the oath were Mr. Braeyi Collins Ekiye [Paras-tatals], Mr. Geoffrey Teneilabe [Political], Mr. M. Baba Kachalla (SME Development) and Mr. Mike Arokoyo (DCOS). Flt. Dispatcher A. Ogbogu, Personal Assistant (PAF), Catering Officer Z.Y.Azeez, Catering Officer I.O.Gambari, Catering Officer R.O.Onyeaghala, Catering Officer E.Okori and Dikimiemi Victoria Collins Mily, Personal Assistant in the Office of the Vice President were also listed.

Mr. Patrick Obah, Personal Assistant to the Vice President, Mr. Godwin Osigbeme (DCOS), Mitaire Ikpen, Personal Assistant to the Senior Special Assistant on Media, Mr. Paul Isikaku, Personal Assistant to the SSA Media(NDM), Hassan Yusuf, Sadiq Aliyu Indabawa [M), Mrs. Ruth Jimoh,Personal Assistant [Domestic], Mr. Ben Okoyen, Protocol Liaison Officer, Hajiya Fatima Lawal and Mrs.Morenike Folani who are the Personal Staff to the wife of the Vice President, also took the secrecy oath .

Copyright © 2008 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.