15 December 2008

Nigeria/Rwanda: Bosso Invites 46 Players for Rwanda

Abuja — Undaunted by Flying Eagles quarter-final exit at the concluded West Africa Union WAFU U-20 Men's Football Championship held in Delta State, Nigeria, coach of the Junior national team, Ladan Bosso, has called to camp 46 players as preparation start in earnest for the African Junior championship slated for Rwanda next year.

The Wikki Tourist technical adviser has also made appeal to clubs to ensure the timely release of invited players. He said the experience of the botched WAFU tournament would be worked on, as the crew builds a formidable team for the championship.

Topping the list of those invited are seven members of the FIFA U-17 winning team, whose pedigree in the round leather was reconfirmed during the elimination ties against Senegal and Sudan, including Sporting Lisbon's Rabiu Ibrahim, Hamburg's Chrisantus Macauley, Lukman Haruna of AS Monaco and Charlton Athletics' Chima Daniel.

Others are Ganiyu Oseni (CSKA Moscow), Kingsley Udoh (Athletico Madrid), and Yakubu Alfa (Helsingborgs IF Sweden).

While they are expected to report to camp at the Birifana Hotel on December 28 in Abuja, another list of 14 untested foreign-based juniors were also called up to fight for shirts in the team.

Among those given the opportunity include, Ireland-based Kayode Fagbola, Innocent, Emeghara, Azeez Balogun, Frank Temile, Jason Oladele, Robert Collins (Italy), Adeola Runsewe, Kingsley Umunegbu, Harmony Ikande (AC Milan), Nnamdi Oduamadi, Daniel Adejo (Reggiana), Gabriel Baba, Nike Ajose (Manchester United) and Jamil Adams (Barnsley FC).

No less than 24 home-based players were also called for the all-important camping made more crucial by the team's failure to impress at the WAFU cracker.

They include keepers Okafor Uche, Dele Ajiboye and Wikki Tourists keeper, Theophilous A. Also in the list are Joseph Steven, Obum Ogbe, Joseph Daniel, Ibok Edet, Alex Nkume, Vincent Atabo, Peter Ambrose, Edile Arigoya, Samuel Tswanya, Obiora Nwankwo, Egbeta U. Michael Igiebo, Emmanuel. Steven Worgu, Okoro Moses, Salami Gbolaha, Uchebo, M. Okechukwu Kenedy Eriba, Otekpa Eneji, Timothy Idogbe, Peter Abraham and Ayo Saka.

The home-based are to report to camp Monday, December 15.

Copyright © 2008 Daily Independent. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.