28 February 2009

Nigeria: Yaradua Approves More Funds for Parastatals


President Umaru Yar'adua on Friday approved the appointment of board members for parastatals establishments in the Presidency, Ministry of Commerce and Industry and Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

According to a list released by the presidency, retired Col. Lawan Gwadabe is the Chairman of the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC), with Mrs Ayoka Lawani, Mr Jackie Umaru, Alhaji Yahaya Zakari and Mr Celestine Nworji as members.

Also in the presidency, the Centre for Management Development (CMD) has Dr Osita Ogbu as Chairman, with Mr John Adogeri, Mr Danladi Hanga, Mrs Ebere Chikwenenme and Habu Ajiya as members.

Chief Tunde Osumrinde is Chairman of the National Lottery Trust Fund (NLTF), while Halilu Gilima, Hajia Habiba Gabarin, Mrs Ogiri Margaret, Mrs Peace Okafor, Mr Clement Osagie and Chief Okanlawon Seboyede are members.

Still in the presidency, Chief Adebiyi Adedotun is Chairman of the National Centre for Economic Management and Administration (NCEMA), with Mukhtar Zubairu Sirajo and Tsedoo Akigu as members.

Alhaji Hamza Sakwa is Chairman of the National Hospital, Abuja, with Mrs Perpetua Okara and Prof. Tayo Shokunbi as members.

In the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Alhaji Yusufu Amazah is Chairman of the Nigerian Export Promotion Council (NEPC), while Wale Ogunbajo is member; Dr Samuel Ortom is chairman of the Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), with Shuaibu Dambam as member.

Amb. Adamu Aliyu is Chairman of the Oil and Gas Free Zones Authority (OGFZA), while N. A. Akinyemi and Mr Augustine Abe are members; Yahya Mafindi is Chairman of the National Automobile Council (NAC), while Kenneth Nwakaeze is member.

The Nigeria Export Processing Zones Authority (NEPZA) has Alhaji Abba Dabo as Chairman, with Dr Adedapo Adeneke and Sen. Musa Adede as members.

The Consumer Protection Council (CPC) has Chief Ken Emechebe as Chairman, with Chief Isola Filani, Prof. Godwin Umoette, Alhaji Bala Suleiman, Alhaji Aliyu Wurma, Alhaji Abdul Abubakar Snr. and Chief Frank Oramuhi, as members.

Mr Festus Temidayo Alebiosu, Mr Gerald Irona and Alhaji Jumba Pali are members of the Centre for Automobile Design (CAD).

The Small and Medium Scale Enterprises Development Agency has Alhaji Musa Ujah as Chairman, with Mrs Nike Oluwole, Alhaji Husaini Bazza, Isa Matori, Alhaji Abu Oboni, Mrs Elizabeth Ikekpeazu and Mr Monday Onyezanwu as members.

Alhaji Shaba Lafiaji is Chairman of the National Sugar Development Council (NSDC).

Copyright © 2009 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.