16 February 2010

Tanzania: Hefty Prizes Awaits Kilimanjaro Marathon Winners

Dar Es Salaam — SOME 22m/- have been set aside for winners of this year's Kilimanjaro Marathon set for February 28 in Moshi, organizers announced today.

At least 4,500 runners from across the world are expected to take part in the annual challenge under the foot hills of the African roof top-Mount Kilimanjaro.

The Kilimanjaro Premium Lager Brand Manager, George Kavishe said today 3m/- has been reserved for the marathon winners, each for men and women categories.

He said the second placed winners for each category in the 42.2 kilometre race will bag 1.5m/- and third placed will take home 850,000/- each.

For the half marathon, top winner in each category would walk away with 1.5m/-, while some 750,000/- has been set aside for the runners up and 425,000/- for the third placed.

Kavishe told journalists that the move to maintain competitive prize monies is in line with the international trend to reward elite performers handsomely.

"We live in a professional era and marathon stars deserve to be richly rewarded, just as sportsmen and women are in other disciplines.

The Kilimanjaro Marathon is now an internationally recognized event and we need to attract the best possible runners," he said.

Managing Director of Wild Frontiers, John Addison, organizers of the event said the 2010 Kilimanjaro Marathon will be a unique experience that will combine the thrills of top-notch sporting competition.

About 3,500 people took part in the race in 2009, and organisers are hoping that this year's turnout will be even bigger and better.

"We are confident that this year's event will attract more participants. It is our intention and that of our partners Athletics Tanzania (AT) to grow the event to become the biggest marathon in East Africa," Addison said.

Last year the winners of the marathon were Emily Chepuiya from Kenya with the time of 2:15:25 while Tanzania's Patrick Nyangero finished second after clocking 2:15:35.

In half marathon, Tanzanians took control--Samwel Shauri emerging winner with 1:03:47 and runner was Shamba Gitime with time of 1:04:17

Copyright © 2010 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.