27 January 2011

Nigeria: With Only 5 Days Left to the Future Awards 2011 - the Finalists Are Revealed - Find Out Who Made the Cut!

After 3 months of rigorous judging and voting, The Future Awards has finally released its final list five days to the 2011 edition of the awards!

The judging process has gone through a Board of Judges, public voting, an Independent Audit Committee, and back to the Board of Judges - accompanied by the exciting three-month activation of its #IamNigeria campaign.

The campaign has seen the Official Launch of its sixth season in October (which commemorated Nigeria's 50th independence anniversary by presenting 50 young Nigerians as the Face of the Future), the October/November Town Hall Meetings across the nation and in South Africa and the United Kingdom, the Nominees Reception for Charity in December, and the Get Your Green On! style campaign.

The finalists are mostly three per category and the winner will be unveiled at The Future Awards 2011, which holds on Sunday, January 30 2011 at the Landmark Village, Victoria Island, Lagos. It's a strictly by invitation event for 1000 exclusive guests, and the Keynote Speaker is Minister for Finance and former Managing Director of Goldman Sachs, Olusegun Aganga.

The event is supported by Access Bank, HiTV, Virgin Atlantic, and the Miccom Golf Resorts. Official Media Partners are Y! (www.ynaija.com), Wazobia FM and Cool FM.

Full profiles of shortlisted nominees are available on www.thefuturenigeria.com. The finalists are below:

Actor of the year

Mercy Johnson

Ini Edo

Uche Jumbo

Best use of advocacy

Orode Uduaghan (Cancer)

Tola Sunmonu (Agriculture)

Muyideen Salau (Rise Sufficiency)

Best use of science

Otejiri Oghoghorie (0.1secs Automatic Changeover/switch off device)

Debo Olaosebikan (Light matter interactions, electro-optics and non-linear optics)

Oluwatoyosi Owoeye (Epidemiological surveys on the incidence and pattern of sports/recreational injuries in Nigeria)

Best use of technology

Iruoye Tolulope (Magic Box)

Mubarak Abdullahi (Aeronautics)

Saheed Adepoju (Encipher Inye Tablet)


Bode Pedro (Veda Technology)

Toyosi Akerele (Rise Prints Company)

Karo Agono (Tremor Perfect)

Comedian of the year


Seyi Law

Teju Babyface

Corporate professional of the year

Adeniyi Olutayo (Head of Internal Audit, Nestle)

Akintola Olufemi (Brand Manager, Milo)

Tokini Peterside (Communications Manager, GD Netter)

Oye Akindeinde (Chief Information Officer, Compliance & Content Monitoring Nigeria Limited)

Owoeye Oluwatoyosi (Physiotherapist, Lagos University Teaching Hospital)

Creative artist of the year

Aisha Augie-Kuta (Photography)

Ogunnubi Babadeji (Painting)

Chibundu Onuzo (Prose)

Creative professional of the year

Emem Ema (Manager)

Nike Fagbule (Publicist)

Dimeji Alara (Stylist)

Janet Nwose (Manager)

Godwin Tom (Manager)

Designer of the year

Bridget Awosika (Bridget Awosika)

Ugoma Adegoke (Zebra Living)

Yvonne Nwosu (Vonne)

Excellence in public service

Dr. Momoh Rabiu (Lagos University Teaching Hospital)

Emmanuel Etim (Africa Union Commission)

Oladayo Afolabi (University of Maiduguri)


Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)

Tolu Ogunlesi (NEXT)

Yinka Ibukun (The Associated Press)

Magazine of the year




Musician of the year

Banky W

Naeto C

Da Grin (RIP)

Music producer of the year

J Martins


Sazzy (RIP)

On-air personnality of the year (Radio)

Tolu Oniru -Toolz (Beat FM)

Tosyn Bucknor -Area Mama (Top Radio)

Matse Uwatse (Wazobia FM)

On-air personnality of the year (TV)

Kemi Adetiba (Maltina Dance-All)

Tana Egbo-Adelana (Peak Talent Show)

Yvonne Ekwere - Vixen (Silverbird TV)

Screen producer of the year

Clarence Peters

Kemi Adetiba

Chineze Anyaene

Sportsperson of the year

Mobolaji Akiode (Basketball)

Vincent Enyeama (Football)

Christiana Nwoye (Wrestling)

Team of the year



The Falconets

Young  person of the year

Nnaemeka Ikegwuonu - Advocate

Don Jazzy - Entrepreneur

Genevieve Nnaji - Actor

P-Square - Artiste

Uche Eze - Entrepreneur

Nneka (Egbuna) - Artiste

Makinde Adeagbo - Innovator

Ojoma Ochai - Intrapreneur

Debo Olaosebikan - Scientist

Blessing Okaragbe - Athlete

* All Young Person of the Year nominees are finalists.

Tags: Entertainment

Copyright © 2011 This Day. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.