11 April 2011

Nigeria: PDP Wins in Jigawa

THE Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won all the seats of the House of Representatives and the three Senatorial Districts in Jigawa State.

Former Governor of the state, Alhaji Ibrahim Saminu Turaki of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) was defeated by the former PDP National Vice President, Alhaji Danladi Sankara with 195,412 in Jigawa North-East Senatorial District. Alhaji Abdulaziz Usman Tarabu of the PDP won in Jigawa North-East with 135,202 votes. For Jigawa Central, Alhaji Abdulmuminu Hassan Zareko emerged winner. According to the result, the PDP also won 10 out of the 11 House of Representatives seats in the state.

It would be recalled that INEC suspended election in Taura/Ringim federal constituency of the state. Those elected as House of Representatives members include Alhaji Tijjani Inuwa (Dutse/Kiyawa), Alhaji Mustapha Habib (Jahun/Miga) and Alhaji Wada,u Usman (Babura/Garki). Others are; Alhaji Adamu Hassan Abunabo (Kirikasamma/Birniwa/Guri), Alhaji Bashir Adamu Jumbo (Kazaure/Roni/Gwiwa/Yankwashi), Alhaji Yusuf Sale Dunari (Mallam-Madori/Kaugama) and Alhaji Usaini Namadi of (Hadejia/Auyo/Kafin-Hausa).

Copyright © 2011 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.