11 April 2011

Nigeria: Olusola Saraki Beaten At Ward

Despite speculations around Ilorin and environs, Governor Abubakar Bukola Saraki of the PDP yesterday defeated his father's Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) senatorial candidate and other contestants to emerge winner of Saturday's senatorial election in the state's Central district.

The party also cleared the two other senatorial districts and five House of Representatives seats. Dr. Saraki defeated three other candidates in the Kwara Central to emerge winner with 78, 799 votes, followed closely by the ACN candidate, Dr Oloriegbe Ibrahim Yahaya, who polled 53, 058 votes, while the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN) Hajia Rukayat Issa scored 32, 499 and CPC's Biliksu Gambari scored 5,928.

In Kwara North Senatorial district, the former governor, Alhaji Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi, emerged winner, defeating the candidates of the CPC, Alhaji Yinusa Yahaya, who followed closely and the ACPN, Alhaji Shuaib Yaman Abdullahi. In Kwara South, the incumbent senator, Simeon Sule Ajibola, was returned after defeating the duo of ACPN and ACN candidates, Mr Oyelola Issa Ashiru and Anu Ibiwoye respectively.

In the House of Representatives, the PDP candidates Dr. Alli Ahmad won the Ilorin East/South federal constituency with 31,163 votes, while ACN candidate, Hajia Biliksu Oniyangi polled 19, 771 and incumbent member of the House formerly of PDP now ACPN Wahab Isah who scored 17, 861 votes.

PDP candidate for Asa/Ilorin West federal constituency, Alhaji Mashood Mustapha scored 44, 170 to defeat his close rival in the ACN, Alhaji Jidda AbdulRazak scored 29, 634, while ACPN candidate Hon Duro Sulaiman scored 17, 388 to come third while Dr Rafiu Ibrahim of PDP won Ifelodun/Oyun/Offa federal constituency to defeat his ACN and ACPN close rivals .

In Kwara North the former commissioner for energy in the state Alhaji Zakari Muhammed and a serving member of House of Representatives, Ahman Bahago Patigi of PDP also won the Baruten/Kaiama and Edu/Moro/Patigi fed constituencies respectively to defeat the CPC and ACN candidates.

Copyright © 2011 Daily Trust. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.