12 September 2011

Malawi: President Bingu Wa Mutharika Names New Cabinet


Office of the President and Cabinet

The State President - His Excellency Ngwazi Professor Bingu wa Mutharika

Commander-In-Chief: - Malawi Defence Force; - Malawi Police Service; Statutory Corporations; Civil Service Administration; National Relief and Disaster Management

The First Lady - Her Excellency Madame Callista Mutharika

National Coordinator: Maternal, Infant and Child Health; HIV/Nutrition/Malaria and Tuberculosis

Deputy Minister in the Office of the President - Honourable Nicholas Harry Dausi, MP


Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Minister - Honourable (Prof) Arthur Peter Mutharika, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Kondwani Nakhumwa, MP

Ministry of Natural Resources, Energy and Environment

Minister - Honourable Dr. Goodall Gondwe, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Vera Faramenga Chilewani, MP

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology

Minister - Honourable Dr. George Thapatula Chaponda, MP

Deputy Minister (Higher Education, Science and Technology) - Honourable Otria Moyo Jere, MP

Deputy Minister (Primary and Secondary Education) - Honourable Victor Sajeni, MP

Ministry of Finance and Development Planning

Minister - Honourable Dr. Ken Lipenga, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Dr. Cornelius Mwalwanda, MP

Ministry of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development

Minister - Honourable (Prof) Peter Nelson Mwanza, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Margaret Roka Mauwa, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Kingsley Sostins Namakhwa, MP

Ministry of Justice and Constitutional Affairs

Minister - Honourable Ephraim Mganda Chiume, MP

Ministry of Transport and Public Infrastructure

Minister - Honourable Mahommed Sidik Mia, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Catherine Gotani Hara, MP

Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development

Minister - Honourable Henry Mussa, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Chimango Chipimpha Mughogho, MP

Ministry of Information and Civic Education

Minister - Honourable Patricia Kaliati, MP

Ministry of Industry and Trade

Minister - Honourable John Bande, MP

Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development

Minister - Honourable Yunus Mussa, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Reverend Christopher Ngwira, MP

Minister of National Defence

Minister - Honourable Aaron Sangala, MP

Ministry of Gender, Child Development and Community Development

Minister - Honourable Rene Bessie Kachere, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Nasrin Pillane, MP

Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife and Culture

Minister - Honourable Daniel Symphoriana Liwimbi, MP

Ministry of Labour

Minister - Honourable Dr. Lucious Grandson Kanyumba, MP

Ministry of Youth Development and Welfare

Minister - Honourable Symon Vuwa Kaunda, MP

Ministry of Health

Minister - Honourable Dr. Jean Kalilani, MP

Deputy Minister - Honourable Ralph Pachalo Jooma, MP

Source: Malawi Government

Copyright © 2011 Southern African News Features. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.