10 April 2012

South Africa/Ghana: Under 20 Prepare for Second Leg Qualifier

The South African Under 20 Women's National Team (Basetsana) is back in camp preparing for the return leg of the of the FIFA U20 Women's World Cup qualifier against Ghana.

South Africa takes on Ghana in a match that will be played in Accra on Saturday, 14 April 2012.

Basetsana lost the first leg second round clash by two goals to nil (2-0) at the Sinaba Stadium (Saturday, 31 March 2012).

The FIFA U20 Women's World Cup will be held in Japan from 8 August - 9 September this year.

The Basetsana squad has been training at the Edenvale Sports Grounds since the start of camp on Saturday (8 April 2012). They have already played a practice match against the Edenvale Boys Club where they won two nil (2-0).

They will face Diambars Under 15 boys in the second practice match scheduled for this afternoon (Tuesday, 10 April 2012).

Head coach of Basetsana, Sheryl Botes has been studying the video of the first leg encounter to see where her side went wrong. The good news for the side is that prolific striker Jermaine Seoposenwe, who missed the first leg through injury, is making steady progress.

"We are working on ways to attack the Ghanaian defence so we can score early goals to give us a fighting chance in Accra. We need to get into attack mode from the first whistle so we can come back victorious. I am very impressed by what I have seen at training over the past few days and this is the sort of commitment I want to see in the match. We have made some tactical changes and are working hard on rectifying the errors we made in the previous encounter," said Botes.

"We fielded Jermaine in the first half of the match, I'm glad she's making good progress and will continue to be closely monitored by the medical team to ensure she reaches full recovery for the encounter."

The South Africans depart for Ghana on Thursday (12 April 2012) evening.

Basetsana squad list:



  • Kaylin Swart HPC
  • Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns FC
  • Katlego Moletsane HPC


  • Vuyo Mkhabela UWC
  • Lebogang Mabatle Zebra Force FC
  • Regina Mogolola HPC
  • Alice Khosa HPC
  • Meagan Newman HPC
  • Nomonde Nomtsheke Bloemfontein Celtics FC


  • Jabulile Mazibuko Alexander Ladies FC
  • Noluthando Magasela Fabulous Ladies FC
  • Maphuthi Manamela Dlalantombazana
  • Robyn Moodaly HPC
  • Nomvula Kgoale HPC
  • Christeline Jantjies Cape Town Spurs FC
  • Tshegofatso Makinta HPC
  • Kelso Peskin HPC


  • Shiwe Nogwanya Royal Ladies FC
  • Jermaine Seoposenwe Santos FC
  • Elizabeth Mashilo Dlalantombazana
  • Mosili Makhoali HPC

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.