30 April 2012

South Africa: Samas Technical Excellence Winners Announced

 Zahara song's Loliwe went Platinum 13 days after release and she won six awards at the 18th annual MTN South African Music Awards. ( Resource: South Africa: Singer Zahara's Most Famous Song Loliwe )

The 18th Annual MTN South African Music Awards first awards night focusing on technical excellence has been held, prior to the main ceremony tonight, Monday, 30 April, 2012, which will be broadcast live from the Superbowl at 8.30pm on SABC1.

Basking in the spotlight on the night - and deservedly so - were local treasures Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela, who were presented with Lifetime Achievement Awards for their service and contribution to South African music.

Johan van der Colff scooped the MTN SAMA for Best Engineer for Zahara's album "Loliwe". The track Loliwe was also named Best-Selling Full Track Download of the Year, having been legally downloaded 32 441 times during 2011.

More than 250 000 downloads

House and kwaito producer DJ Cleo notched up two trophies for his hit single Facebook, winning the category for Best-Selling True-Tone Download of the Year (having sold 3520 downloads) and Best-Selling Ring-Back Tone of the Year (with 252 184 downloads).

The winners of the MTN Best-Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year and Best-Selling Album of the Year are due to be revealed at the Monday night awards.

Ryan Peimer, creator of The Parlotones' It's Magic Music Video won the MTN SAMA for Best Video of the Year and Dan Roberts was named Best Producer for his work on Laurie Levin's album "Six Winters".

DJ Sbu won a SAMA for Remix of the Year for Lengoma, featuring songbird Zahara.

The Best Live DVD award went to Simphiwe Dana for "An Evening with Simphiwe Dana (Live in Concert)".

The Award for the SAMPRA Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2011 went to Liquideep for Alone.


Best Producer

Dan Roberts - Six Winters by Laurie Levine

Best Engineer

Johan van der Colff - Loliwe by Zahara

Best Video of the Year

Ryan Peimer - It's Magic by The Parlotones

Best Live DVD

Simphiwe Dana - An Evening with Simphiwe Dana (Live in Concert)

Remix of the Year

DJ Sbu - Lengoma featuring Zahara

Lifetime Achievement Awards

Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela

Best Selling True-Tone Download of the Year

Facebook by DJ Cleo

Best Selling Ring-Back-Tone of the Year

Facebook by DJ Cleo

Best Selling Full-Track Download of the Year

Loliwe by Zahara

SAMPRA Most Played Song on South African Radio in 2011

Alone by Liquiddeep

For all the MTN SAMA 18 action at the main awards ceremony tonight, watch SABC1 at 8.30pm or go to the official SAMA 18 digital platforms for live streaming, highlights and news.

Copyright © 2012 Biz-Community. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.