20 May 2012

Tanzania: 26 Aspirants Axed From Sunday's At Elections

TWENTY-SIX contestants in the Athletics Tanzania (AT) general elections have been disqualified as the body's members go to the polls at the Hilux Hotel in Morogoro on Sunday.

The Chairman of a committee that oversees the elections, Henry Tandau, mentioned contestants that have been disqualified from contesting for the president's post as Isaac Kiret and Wilhelm Gidabuday while Leonard Mandara, Augustine Mduda and Gidamis Shahanga have been cleared to contest for the position.

Ernest Saria, who was eyeing the vice president's post (technical) pulled out of the elections as other contestants, Hamad Ndee and Herman Ndisa have been given green light to contest. In the secretary general position, contestants that have been cleared to contest include Suleiman Nyambui, who is seeking re-election, John Manyama, John Bayo and Zainabu Mbiro, while Mohamed Kiganja pulled out because of other commitments.

The assistant secretary general position has seen Ombeni Zavalla, incumbent Julius Musomi, Lucas Nkungu and Leonard Mandara get a go ahead to contest while Meta Bare was disqualified. Ishaq Suleiman is the only contestant for the treasurer post as Mgeni Bilali and Deogratius Crispin have been disqualified.

An editor of a local Swahili newspaper, Tanzania Daima, Tullo Chambo, leads the list of contestants for the executive committee members' post. Others are Julieth Mndeme, Inviolata Nkya, Zakaria Gwandu, Zakaria Barie, Alfredo Shahanga, Damian Mabena, Mwinga Mwanjala, Saida Kapinga, Judith Myeya, Mawazo Mussa, Thabita Rashid, Rehema Kilo, Amos Peter Mwita, Idd Simba, Norbert Kilimtali, Michael Washa and Idd Mhunzi.

Contestants that have been disqualified from battling for the executive committee members' post include Amon Safiel, Bahitwa Donald, Herman Ndisa, Naasi Gwagwe, Liston Metecha, Zainabu Mbiro, Robert Kalyahe, Maselina Emmanuel, Pendo Jube and Jackson Kalimkutima.

Others are Herman Ndisa, Deogratius Crispin, Isaac, Saida Kapinga, Abraham Mikumi, Raymond Simkoko, Yohana Misese, Christopher Mbilo, Mlingwi Bwire and Alphonce Mkama. The National Sports Council (NSC) had previously warned that only valid members of the AT will be allowed to attend the body's general assembly and vote new office bearers.

Copyright © 2012 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.