22 May 2012

Namibia: Warriors Jet Off to German Training Camp

Windhoek — Namibia's senior team, the Brave Warriors yesterday jetted out to Germany with a strong 21-member squad, where they will be involved in a 10-day training camp ahead of their crucial tie against the Nigeria on the 3rd of next month, at the U. J Esseune Stadium in Calabar, Nigeria.

While in Germany, they will be engaged in a few friendly games against 3rd division German teams - as part of their preparations. After the conclusion of the training camp in Germany, they will then travel directly to Nigeria for their much-anticipated 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier.

The travelling entourage has been graced by the presence of a few foreign-based players led by PSL Orlando Pirates striker Rudolph Bester, Virgil Vries, Ephraim Tjihonge, Tangeni Shipahu and Lazarus Kaimbi.

However, Kaimbi will not be playing against Nigeria due to a suspension, after he received two yellow cards in both legs of the 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifiers preliminary round against Djibouti, but will however be available for selection when Namibia meets Kenya on June 9 at Windhoek's Independence Stadium.

After the match against Kenya, the Warriors will probably have little time to take a breather as they are faced with a vital encounter against Liberia on June 16 in Windhoek, in the 2nd leg of the 2013 CAF AFCON qualifier.

Namibia will in all likelihood be expected to bounce back from their 1st leg 1-0 defeat against Liberia and win this match, if they are to save face and secure a safe journey to the 2013 African Cup of Nations to be hosted by South Africa.

According to Brave Warriors Team Manager, Tim Isaacs, midfielder Manfred Starke and striker Henrico Botes withdrew from the squad due to nagging injuries.

"The pair will not be joining us because of injuries, but Henrico will definitely be a part of the squad that will be playing against Kenya at home on June 9," confirmed Isaacs.

The full squad is as follows: Arnold Subeb (Black Africa FC), Virgill Vries (Carara FC - South Africa), Efriam Tjihonge (African Warriors - South Africa), Willem Mwedihanga (Wes Bank Tigers FC), Larry Horaeb (Ramblers FC), Steven Sabatha (Wes Bank Tigers FC), Da Costa Angula (Black Africa FC), Denzil Haoseb (Black Africa FC), Willy Stephanus (Black Africa FC), Eslin Kamuhanga (Black Africa FC), Petrus Shitembi (Rundu Chiefs FC), Ronald Ketjijere (African Stars FC,) Bryan Bantam (Black Africa FC), Sadney Urikhob (Civics FC), Benson Shilongo (Wes Bank Tigers FC), Jerome Louis (Black Africa FC), Hendrik Somaeb (Blue Waters FC), Lazarus Kaimbi (Jomo Cosmos - South Africa), Tangeni Shipahu (Amazulu - South Africa), Rudolf Bester (Orlando Pirates - South Africa) and Heinrich Isaacks (Civics). - Additional reporting by NFA.org.na

Copyright © 2012 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.