11 June 2012

South Africa/Gabon: Bafana Bafana Squad Reduced for Gabon Friendly

Photo: SAFA
Bafana Bafana defeats Gabon

Bafana Bafana caretaker coach Steve Komphela has released five players from the squad that will face Gabon in an international friendly match that will be played on Friday, 15 June 2012.

The clash will take place at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.

Kickoff is at 20h30.

Captain Steven Pienaar, striker Katlego Mphela, midfielders Oupa Manyisa and Thanduyise Khuboni as well as defender Bongani Khumalo have all been allowed to go home.

The players left after the squad's training session on Monday evening.

"We are left with one match, having played two already. Initially we called-up a big squad because we had three back to back clashes and wanted to have cover in various positions in case of injuries. We have seen what the five that we released can give us, and now this is a chance to have a look at other players," said Komphela.

"At the same time we also had to reserve some respect to the opposition and not make wholesale changes to our squad. We still need continuity and we believe the players that are remaining will provide the needed balance to tackle Gabon on Friday."

Bafana Bafana departs for Nelspruit on Thursday morning (14 June).

The full Bafana Bafana squad to face Gabon:


KHUNE Itumeleng

Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

KEET Darren

KV Kortrijk FC (Belgium)


GOULD Morgan

Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)


Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)


Racing Genk FC (Belgium)

GAXA Siboniso

Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

XULU Siyanda

Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)



Kaizer Chiefs FC ( SA)


Kaizer Chiefs FC ( SA)


Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

MOKOENA Lebohang

Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

JALI Andile

Orlando Pirates FC (SA)


Helsingborg FC ( Sweden)

SERERO Thulani

Ajax Amsterdam FC ( Netherlands)

MASHABA Mzikayise

Free State Stars FC (SA)


NOMVETHE Siyabonga

Moroka Swallows FC (SA)


Orlando Pirates FC ( SA)


Santos FC (SA)

MAJORO Lehlohonolo

Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

Gabon is expected in Nelspruit on Wednesday morning (13 June) around 06h00.

The full Gabon squad:

Didier Ewono Ebang

Anthony Mfa Mezui

Emmanuel Ndong Mba

Edmond Mouele

Ecuele Manga

Remy Ebanega Ekwa

Henry-Junior Ndong

Stevvy Nzambe

Charly Moussono

Merlin KoumbaTadjigora

Cedric Boussougou Moubikou

Franck Engonga Obame

Robert Nsimbi

Alexandra Ndoumbou

Guelor Kanga

Levy Madinda

Landy Jerry Obiang Obiang

Branger Engone

Pierre Emerick Aubameyang

Judex Soumouna Lipoukou

Romaric Rogombe

Allen nono

Axel Meye Me Ndong

Romuald Ntsitsigui

Coach: Paolo Duarte

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.