13 June 2012

Nigeria: President Approves Posting of New Ambassadors

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the posting of 48 new ambassadors out to their missions from a list of 93, at a ceremony in the State House, on Tuesday, June 12.

The President charged the new envoys to give higher priority to promoting democracy and good governance while at the same time pursuing multilateral diplomacy to the benefit of Nigeria in an ever-changing world.

"You are assuming office at a critical period in Nigeria's developmental history. As you prepare to depart to your countries of accreditation, you must always bear in mind that our foreign policy must reflect the aspirations and priorities of a democratic Nigeria.

"Economic diplomacy and Africa remain at the centre of our foreign policy agenda. In this respect, your responsibility to attract investments into the country and open up markets for our local goods and services cannot be over emphasised.

"Defending the interests of Nigerians living and operating lawfully in your countries of accreditation must be seen as a primary assignment.

"Protecting their interest through greater and more efficient consular support is also a priority to which you must remain fully committed.

"Increasingly, the Diaspora is shaping the growth and development of nations. Ours should not be different. We have a vibrant Diaspora that you need to constantly engage with so that it can effectively support and make contributions to national development, especially in the areas of finance, ICT and intellectual property."

"Today, we live in an international environment that is characterised by rapid change, intense competition, and driven by knowledge and technology. It is an exciting world in which only the best succeed.

"In such an environment, only a dynamic, confident and proactive foreign service can effectively and efficiently serve Nigeria's interests.

"To build and sustain a corps of staff that can excel, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs must accord priority to recruiting the best and ensuring the regular training of its diplomatic agents.

"I believe that the objective of raising standards can also be achieved if senior Foreign Service officers are given challenges that prove their worth. They should be sufficiently equipped to act as veritable change agents, and lead in positively driving Nigeria's foreign policy objectives abroad.

"My decision to give prominence to career officers in the current appointments was informed, in part, by the imperative to incentivise the career officers and enhance commitment to professional excellence," President Jonathan stated.

Among the envoys are ambassadors in-situ who would be domiciled in the country are the State House Chief of Protocol, Mr. Olutola Onijala; the Presidential Liaison Officer, Alh. Abubakar Waziri and Alh. Abdulkadir Musa.

The other Ambassadors in-situ are Ridhwan Mustapha, Ozoemenam Nwobu, Sunday Omoigiade and Harrison Solaja.

The issuance of the letters represents the last stage of official release of the envoys to resume at their duty posts.

Names - Country

1. Amb. Chive Lor Ignatius Kaave - Argentina

2. Amb. Felix Edobor Awanbor -Belgium

3. Amb. Lawrence Olufemi Obisakin - Benin Rep.

4. Amb. Okwudili Odi Obidigbo Nwosu - Burundi

5. Amb. Hadiza Mustapha - Cameroon

6. Amb. Ojo Uma Maduekwe - Canada

7. Amb. Garba Abdu Zakari - Chad

8. Amb.Victoria Jolaade Bosede Onipede - Congo Brazzaville

9. Amb. Katherine Uyok Okon - Chech Republic

10. Amb. Grant Okechukwu Ehiobuche - Dem. Rep. of Congo

11. Amb. Sunday Benjamin B Bassey - Equat. Guinea

12. Amb. Akinyele Oladipo Fayomi - France

13. Amb. Ademola Oluseyi Onafowokan - Ghana

14. Amb. Ayodeji Lawrence Ayodele - Greece

15. Amb. Abdul Rahman Sallahdeen - Indonesia

16. Amb. Tukur Mani - Iran

17. Amb. Eric Tonye Aworabhi - Italy

18. Amb.Olatokunboh Kamson - Jamaica

19. Amb. Taofeek Oladejo Arapaja - Jordan

20. Amb. Solomon Akintola Kayode Oyateru - Kenya

21. Amb. Haruna Garba - Kuwait

22. Amb. Ghigozie Fidelia Obi-Nnadozie - Liberia

23. Amb. Mohammed Lawan Gana - Malawi

24. Amb. Zhiri James Gana - Mexico

25. Amb. Matilda Kwashi - Mozambique

26. Amb. Biodun Nathaniel Olorunfemi - Namibia

27. Amb. Alexander Nwofe - North Korea

28. Amb. Akinyemi Farounbi - Philippines

29. Amb. Samuel Wodi Jimba - Poland

30. Amb. Abba Abdullahi Tijjani - Romania

31. Amb. Assam Ekanem Assam - Russia

32. Amb. Ayibakuro Peter Ogidi-Oke - Rwanda

33. Amb. Abubakar Shehu Bunu - Saudi Arabia

34. Amb. Katyen Catherine Jackden - Senegal

35. Amb. Eyo Asuquo - Sierra Leone

36. Amb. Femi Akenson Rotimi - Sri Lanka

37. Amb. Haliru Sodangi Shuaibu - Sudan

38. Amb. Fidelia Akuabata Njeze - Switzerland

39. Amb. Adamu Babangida Ibrahim - Syria

40. Amb. Chukwudi Newington Okafor - Thailand

41. Amb. Matthew Sunday Adoli - Togo

42. Amb. James Shuaibu Barka - Tunisia

43. Amb. Cornelius O. Oluwateru - United Arab Emirates

44. Amb. Frank Ngozi Isoh - Uganda

45. Amb. Ibrahim Auwalu - Ukraine

46. Amb. Francis Chukwuemeka Okeke - Vatican

47. Amb. Matthias Ojih Okafor - Vietnam

48. Amb. Sifawu Inu-Umoru Momoh - Zambia

Copyright © 2012 Nigeria First. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.