4 July 2012

Namibia: Kaxuxwena, Johannes Win Victory Races

Robert Kaxuxwena and Helalia Johannes were victorious at the second leg of the Old Mutual Victory Races Series in Swakopmund on Saturday.

The second leg took place in chilly weather in Swakopmund on Saturday morning and saw a large turnout of 540 athletes participating in the 21km and 5km events.

The Elite Men's category was keenly contested before Kaxuxwena won the 21km half-marathon in a time of 1:06:03. Simon Shipingana followed three seconds behind in second place, while Oscar Komeya came third a further two seconds behind.

Helalia Johannes comfortably won the Elite Women's category, completing the 21km event in 1:12:54. Beata Naigambo (1:14:32) finished more than a minute behind in second place, while Lavinia Haitope came third in 1:15:44.

Julian Fryman won the Male 15-19 year category in 1:09:49, followed by Andreas Tsiyaya (1:12:16) and Bonafatius Kooper (1:14:17), while Shivomwene Shilongo won the Female 15-19 year category in 1:34:19, followed by Ndapandula Nghinaunye (1:42:04) and Johanna Shigwedha (1:45:46).

Mathias Mutota won the Male Plus 40 category in 1:16:44, followed by Abraham Rooi (1:21:42) and Johannes !Gawaxanab (1:25:58), while Sieglinde Gontes won the Female Plus 40 category in 1:39:21, followed by Ulla Burd (1:46:56) and Estelle Bailey (1:55:13).

The winners of the 5km categories were as follows:

5km Female U15:

Theresia Hausiku 2. Maria Ushona 3. Joandie Jossob

5km Male U15:

Johannes Nuuyenga, 2. Angelo Janse 3. Gerson Withe

5km Female 15-19:

Taimi Nghimiwiiki 2. Estina Mingeli 3. Frieda Mingeli.

5km Male 15-19:

Fillipus Kamati 2. Sem Shimanda 3. Yammick Cloete

5km Female 20-39:

Sofia Nambabi 2. Ndeshimona Ekandjo 3. Ottilie Aimwata

5km Male 20-39:

Mynhardt Kuanivi 2. Leonard Namupala 3. Aaron Tjivambi

5km Female 40 plus:

Julia Haitula 2. A Martins 3. Annelie Rousseau

5km Male 40 plus:

Suzuki Shindukule 2. Kristof Ndunga 3. Amon Joseph

The third leg in the Old Mutual Victory Races series will take place in Oshakati on July 21.

Copyright © 2012 The Namibian. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.