14 July 2012

Rwanda: Mico Back in Junior Wasps' Squad

Justin Mico is likely to play a part in today's friendly between the Junior Wasps and Tanzania's U-20 team 'Ngorongoro Stars'.

The Isonga striker, who has been sidelined for the past two months, passed a late fitness test on Thursday to make the 25-man provisional squad which left for Dar es Salaam yesterday.

Mico was Richard Tardy's first choice striker during last year's Africa U-17 Championship and Fifa U-20 World Cup in Mexico but has since fallen down the pecking order following the emergence of teammates Hamidu Ndayisaba, Farouk Ruhinda, APR's Kipson Atuheire and Emmanuel Sebanani of Mukura.

Tardy also included Jean D'Amour Uwimamana in the squad.

The defensive midfielder was an ever-present figure in the Police team which finished second in the Primus National league and reached the final of the MTN Peace Cup.

Other notable faces in the team include Belgium-based Jean Marie Rusingizandekwe, Bonny Bayingana (Express, Uganda), Bonfils Kabanda (AC Nancy, France) and Charles Tibingana (Proline, Uganda).

After today's friendly, the team will play another friendly on Monday as part of the team's preparations for the 2013 Africa Youth Championship second round qualifier against Mali.

The first leg is slated for the weekend of July 28-29 in Kigali.

Rwanda reached the second round after a 4-1 aggregates win over Namibia.

25-man Provision squad:

Goalkeepers: Olivier Kwizera, Steven Ntalibi, Marcel Nzarora (Isonga)

Defenders: Patrick Umwungeri (SC Kiyovu), Hamdan Bariyanga (Etincelles), Heritier Turatsinze (Isonga), Michel Rusheshangoga (Isonga), Emery Bayisenge (Isonga), Faustin Usengimana (Isonga), Francois Hakizimana (Isonga), Jean Marie Rusingizandekwe (FC Marines, Belgium)

Midfielders: Jean D'amour Uwimana (Police), Eric Nsabimana (Isonga), Robert Ndatimana (Isonga), Tumaine Ntamuhanga (Rayon Sport), Bonfils Kabanda (AS Nancy), Bonny Mbonye Bayingana (Express, Uganda), Imran Nshimiyimana (AS Kigali), Charles Tibingana Mwesigye (Proline, Uganda), Patrick Sibomana (Isonga).

Strikers: Hamidu Ndayisaba (Isonga), Justin Mico (Isonga), Farouk Ruhinda (Isonga), Kipson Atuheire (APR), Emmanuel Sebanani (Mukura).

Copyright © 2012 Rwanda Focus. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.