15 July 2012

Egypt: Shura MPs Resign From Constituent Assembly

All Shura Council members on the constituent assembly resigned from the assembly on Sunday, the Middle East News Agency reported.

MPs Ali Fath al-Bab, Taher Abdel Mohsen, Hassan Omar and Abdel Salam Ragheb sent their resignation letters to the assembly today.

The MPs said the reason for their resignation was to invalidate the argument of the administrative judiciary on the unconstitutionality of the constituent assembly and abort all appeals against it.

Some of these appeals are based on the fact that there are Shura Council members on the assembly which threatens the continuity of the assembly's work.

MPs Fath al-Bab and Abdel Mohsen had announced earlier their intention to resign from the assembly.

"Out of keenness on the continuity of the assembly's work... we have decided to resign from the constituent assembly so that it can continue its work," the two MPs said in a statement.

They also pointed out that this step emphasizes the continuity of the work of this assembly "which finally came to existence after a national consensus."

Copyright © 2012 Aswat Masriya. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.