13 July 2012

South Africa: Banyana Banyana Defeat German Club

Photo: Confederation of African Football.
South Africa women's national soccer team Banyana Banyana.

Banyana Banyana's Olympic preparations moved up a gear with a convincing 3-1 win over German Premier League ladies side Bayer 04 Leverkusen at the Sportschule in Hennef, near Cologne, Germany on Thursday, 12 July 2012.

The Sasol-sponsored South African Senior Women's National Team will play their final preparation match when they face Great Britain in an international friendly fixture in Birmingham, England on Sunday, 15 July 2012.

Playing against Bayer 04 Leverkusen, captain Amanda Dlamini headed home the opening goal in the 6 th minute from a free-kick taken by defender Janine van Wyk. Fifteen minutes later, Palace Super Falcons (Sasol League Gauteng) striker Portia Modise collected a through pass from midfielder Mary Ntsweng, before striking home the second goal from 30 metres out, helped by a goalkeeping fumble.

In the second half, the Germans reduced the deficit with a well-taken shot put wide of Banyana Banyana goalkeeper Roxanne Barker. Bloemfontein Celtics (Sasol League Free State) striker, substitute Sanah Mollo restored the two-goal advantage for the visitors after a powerful run down the right wing, which ended with her bullet-like shot finding the goal-net off the far upright post.

"The spirit in the camp is high with all of the 18 Olympic bound players, and the six reserves who will remain on standby in South Africa in case of injuries to the travelling players, working hard in training," said Banyana Banyana head coach Joseph Mkhonza.

"SASCOC, SAFA and Sasol need to be thanked for making this training camp in Germany possible and the team is committed to doing their best when Banyana Banyana makes its Olympic Games debut in London later this month."

The South Africans were further greeted by news of the confirmation of the teams to compete at the African Women Championship 2012 in Equatorial Guinea from November 4-18.

Banyana Banyana, whose best finish in the competition was as runners-up in 1995 and 2008, will be part of the action along with hosts Equatorial Guinea, Nigeria, Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Ethiopia and Senegal.

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.