16 August 2012

Sierra Leone: Mattsson Names Six New Faces in Leone Stars Squad

Sierra Leone national team coach, Lars Olof-Mattsson, has named six new faces in the national team, Leone Stars for the final qualifying round clash against Tunisia for the 2013 African Nations Cup.

The Leone Stars will host the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia in the first leg encounter at the National Stadium in Freetown on September 8 before heading to Tunis for the return leg in a fortnight.

The new inclusion by Coach Mattsson are FC Rouen goalkeeper Solomon Zombo Morris, Umea FC full back Mohamed Kamanor, Hassan Mila Sesay of Mypha FC in Finland, Germany-based Augsburg defender Gibril Sankoh and Azal PFC striker Victor Igbekoyi Kayode.

This is the third time Olof-Mattsson is extending an invitation to Germany-based defender, Gibril Sankoh, who is yet to make his debut for the Sierra Leone national team. Whether or not he will honour the invitation this time round remains to be seen as the player is holding a Dutch passport.

Meanwhile, Portsmouth potential signing, Mustapha Dumbuya, has again been included in the squad as he hopes to make his first international debut. Dumbuya was an unused sub in Leone Stars' 4-2 win over Sao Tome & Principe in Freetown. Neftchi FC striker, Julius Woobay, would be making a return to the squad.

However, AC Milan midfielder Rodney Strasser and Boden BK defender David Simbo are the noticeable absentees from the squad as both players are nursing injuries they picked up during their club duties.

Meanwhile, Coach Mattsson is pleading for the inclusion of in-form Sporting Kansas City Wizard striker, Kei Kamara and FK Baku midfielder Ibrahim Obreh Kargbo as both players are serving indefinite suspensions jointly imposed by the Ministry of Youth Employment and Sports and the Sierra Leone Football Association.

The full list of invited players:


Christian Caulker - FC Kallon

Solomon Zombo Morris - FC Rouen


Mustapha Dumbuya - Portsmouth

Mohamed Kamanor - Umea FC

Gibril Sankoh - Augsburg

Umaru Bangura - FK Haugesund

Sheriff Suma - FK Raven

Ibrahim Koroma - Trellborgs FF


Alfred Sankoh - Sanliurfaspor

Hassan Mila Sesay - Mypha FC

Mohamed Medo Kamara - Partizan Belgrade

Khalifa Jabbie - Fredrikstad

Samuel Barlay - FK Raven

Julius Woobay - Neftchi FC

Mohamed Kallon - FC Kallon


Victor Igbekoyi Kayode - Azal PFC

Alhassan Crespo Kamara - AIK

Ibrahim Teteh Bangura - Bursaspor

Mohamed Bangura - Celtic

Copyright © 2012 Concord Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.