27 August 2012

Kenya: Tundo Savors First Nanyuki Win in Evo 9

arl "Flash" Tundo navigated by Tim Jessop in their Mitsubishi EVO9 emerged victorious in the KCB Advantage Banking Rally in Nanyuki following cancellation of the last stage (CS11) at Batian View.

Following heavy afternoon downpour, Clerk of the Course, Nazir Yakub in consultation with stewards ended proceedings at penultimate stage only with 5 kilometers of the super special to spare.

As heavens opened, Tundo savored his second career Nanyuki Rally victory after winning this event in 2005 in a Subaru N10.

This was his first Nanyuki victory in the Mitsubishi. He beat teammate Alastair Cavenagh by a mere 22 seconds to claim his fourth win of the 2012 KNRC season.

"The rally was really good. I have won Nanyuki for the first time in my Mitsubishi," said Tundo.

Tundo has so far won the season opening Nyeri rally, Nakuru Rally, the diamond jubilee Safari and now Nanyuki.

He now opens a 75 points championship lead from Duncan who retired on day two but still maintained second position on 280points.

Alastair's second place finish in Nanyuki saw him cling to third in the KNRC tussle with 250. Third was Baldev Chager whose Subaru kept on losing power. Quentin Mitchell was fourth.

With Tundo and Cavenagh untouchable, Quentin spent the whole day fighting with Chager for a podium slot which he eventually lost.

Day 1 overnight leader Raaji Bharij finished 6th after he went through the bush and lost 6minutes.

A tense showdown was manifest going into the last section of the rally.

Alastair had his run on the Loldaiga section frustrated when he drove the last 13 kilometers with a puncture and lost 6 seconds to Tundo. Azar Anwar was fifth overall.


The Nanyuki Rally had a number of casualties.Peter Horsey retired after the engine of his "Moto Moto" Datsun pick up failed. Issa Amwari was time barred in service.

Other casualties were Paatrick Kibaara, Jonathan Somen, Jeff Mburu and Munir Khan.Hardeep Rehsi rolled on CS6 and bid Nanyuki goodbye.

Provisional Results

1. Carl Tundo/T. Jessop (EVO9) 1:22:11

2. Alastair Cavanagh/G. Laurence (EVO9) 1:22:3

3 Baldy Chager/Raju Sehhmi (Subaru N16) 1:26:40

4. Quentin Mitchell/Chris Davis (Subaru N16)1:27:11

5. Azar Anwar/Julius Ngigi (EVO8) 1:29:34

6. Raaji Bharij/Geoff Mayes (EVO9) 1:34:42

Copyright © 2012 Capital FM. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.