28 August 2012

Sierra Leone: Man City Youngster & Abu Tommy Get Leone Stars Invite

Manchester City youngster George Davies, FC Sheriff Tiraspol midfielder Abu Tommy and FK Jagodina striker Lamin Suma are the three new names invited for the Sierra Leone national team, Leone Stars' 2013 Nations Cup qualifying duel against Tunisia.

Leone Stars will host the Carthage Eagles at the National Stadium in Freetown on September 8 for the first leg encounter and with 11 days to go, Leone Stars' Swedish coach Lars Olof Mattsson has released a new list of 21 players instead of the 19 he had earlier named.

Mattsson's decision to include the three players in the squad cannot be unconnected to recent development over the eligibility of Nigeria-born striker Victor Igbekoyi Kayode to play for the country.

Questions were raised as to whether the Azal PFC striker meets the FIFA criteria that should enable him to naturalize. However, with such concerns, the Swede has decided to replace Kayode with the two youngsters: FK Jagodina striker Lamin Suma and Manchester City's attacking winger, George Davies.

This is the first time the two youngsters have got a call-up from the Swede to join the senior side. Also being invited for the first time is FC Sheriff Tiraspol midfielder, Abu Tommy.

Davies' inclusion to the squad could be connected to his recent performance with the national U-20 squad against Cameroon in both legs. Despite being knocked out by the Cameroonians 3-1 on aggregate, the Man City youngster was said to have been the center of attraction in both legs with his outstanding pace and individual skills.



Christian Caulker - Kallon FC, Sierra Leone

Solomon Zombo Morris - FC Rouen, France


Mustapha Dumbuya - Portsmouth FC, England

Mohamed Kamanor - Umeå FC, Sweden

Gibril Sankoh - Augsburg FC, Germany

Umaru Bangura - FK Haugesund, Norway

Hassan Milla Sesay - My Pa FC, Finland

Sheriff Suma - FK Raevan, Azerbadjan

Ibrahim Koroma - Trelleborgs FF, Sweden


Alfred Sankoh - Sanliurfaspor, Turkey

Mohamed Medo Kamara - Partizan Belgrade, Serbia

Khalifa Jabbie - Fredrikstad FK, Norway

Samuel Barlay - FK Raevan, Azerbadjan

Julius Woobay - Neftchi FC, Azerbadjan

Mohamed Kallon - Kallon FC, Sierra Leone

Abu Tommy - FC Tiraspol, Moldova


Lamin Suma - FK Jagodina, Serbia

Alhassan Crespo - Kamara AIK, Sweden

Ibrahim Teteh Bangura - Bursaspor, Turkey

Mohamed Bangura - Celtic FC, Scotland

George Davies - Manchester City, England

Copyright © 2012 Concord Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.