5 October 2012

Namibia: The Dogg Starts Channel O Award Nomination Parties

Photo: Album cover
Gal Level

One of Namibia's leading Kwaito artists, The Dogg, aka Mshasho, who has been nominated for the fourth time in the Channel O Music awards, has embarked on nationwide nomination parties starting in Rundu last week. The Dogg, real name Martin Morocky, who has been scooping Channel O Music awards in the Most Gifted Kwaito Video of the Year category, has also been nominated finalists in the same category this year. His Manager, Knowledge Ipinge, confirmed to Art Life on Monday that a red carpet nomination party will be held tomorrow at D-Club near the Showgrounds in Windhoek.

"We have decided to host the Channel O Music award nomination parties for the Dogg. This week it's for our Mshasho army in Windhoek to come and enjoy, and at the same time vote on the red carpet at D-Club.

Entrance is free for all ladies and it will also be their time to vote for our Dogg. We need our fans to come and enjoy the nomination party after the Windhoek Show since D-Club is some metres away from the showgrounds," says he.

In Rundu, the Mshasho army launched the nomination and vote campaign at the new World Entertainment centre where he rocked his fans from evening until seven in the morning. "We took the opportunity to also launch the latest single titled Mine on my money, in which he advises the Namibian people, especially other artists to focus on making money through music instead of back biting and being jealous. Instead of making money through hard work, other artists in the world make money through drugs and other illicit dealings," Knowledge Ipinge says.

In his nomination, The Dogg is competing with a song titled Tromentos in which he features one of the most popular South African kwaito artists, Bricks. They have performed together in many shows in Namibia hence their collaboration. Meanwhile, the multi-award winning Namibian Kwaito artist is happy that this year the Namibian flag will be flying higher now that the Land of the Brave will be represented by three artists.

Mshasho was nominated along some other local kwaito artists such as the Gal Level and EES. The female duo, Gal Level (Daphe Willibard and Frieda Haindaka) who recently announced a five-year recording break, are nominated in the Most Gifted Afro Pop Video of the Year category, with their song that features Toniks entitled Money.

EES, whose really names is Eric Sell, and the Dogg were both nominated in the same category. The Dogg, scooped this award last year. EES has been nominated for his hit song, Ayoba, that also features a South African artist, Mandoza. So far he has produced 35 music videos and Ayoba seems finally destined to earn him due recognition.

Mshasho army member here in Eenhana, Bobby Adams, was in ecstatic mood when he received news that The Dogg has been nominated.

"We can't wait for the day to see our top Namibian artists scoop the most prestigious awards in Southern Africa. Channel O Music awards are the best in the SADC region, and as a Mshasho army member, I am campaigning for his nomination even in shebeens here. We are extremely happy again this year, and proud that he has been nominated again. Let's all vote for him," Adams urges

The Channel O Music Awards are in the ninth edition and will be held at Walter Sisulu Square, Kliptown in South Africa on November 17, bringing these awards to Soweto for the first time.

The Channel O Music awards are the only music video awards in which the public votes, and will be broadcast around the African continent and exclusively features African artists. This year's nominations are no surprise with Nigerian artists amassing 17 nominations having been dominating since its inception.

Nigerian artists have been showing their musical dominance in African, followed by South Africans. Nigerian artists have shown their dominance for nominations in almost all categories except for those limited to specific regions. Other artists nominated for this year's edition are mainly from Angola, South Africa, Kenya, Mozambique, Uganda, Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

Copyright © 2012 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.