15 October 2012

Africa: Dlamini Zuma to Be Sworn in As AU Commission Chairperson

Photo: The Presidency of the Republic of South Africa
The chair of the African Union Commission, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma.

Pretoria — Former South African Home Affairs Minister Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma will be inaugurated as the new African Union Commission (AUC) chairperson this morning.

The official handing over ceremony will take place in Ethiopia's capital Addis Ababa and will be attended by Boni Yayi, President of the Republic of Benin and Chairperson of the African Union, Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn and outgoing Chairperson of the AUC Jean Ping.

Ambassadors, permanent representatives of the African Union, heads of international and regional organisations, staff members of the AUC and other invited guests will also be in attendance.

Dlamini Zuma, who will take over the leadership for a four-year term, will be assisted by her deputy, Erastus Mwencha.

This is the first time the commission will be led by a woman.

The AU Commission is the secretariat of the union entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 officials, a chairperson, a deputy and eight commissioners and staff members.

Copyright © 2012 SAnews.gov.za. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.