6 November 2012

Zimbabwe: ZC Awards Preps On Course

ZIMBABWE Cricket want to host a flawless event despite the lack of sponsorship for this year's annual awards ceremony. The function will be held at the Country Club on Saturday and will recognise players and officials who have been outstanding during the domestic and international season running from August 2011 to March 2012.

CBZ Holdings were the major sponsors of the event for the past two years but have not committed themselves to the event this year.

The awards are in their fourth year running since their inauguration in Bulawayo in 2009 and ZC spokesperson Shingai Rhuhwaya yesterday said preparations for the 2012 edition are at advanced stage.

"We are putting the final touches and we are looking forward to a very good event. We don't have a sponsor this year.

"CBZ Holdings sponsored us the last two years but it's unfortunate the deal came to an end. Nevertheless, we are going to see to it that we bring together something for our cricketers," said Rhuhwaya.

The ZC cricket awards evening has been graced by renowned international players like West Indies great Brian Lara who was the guest of honour in 2010.

Last year his former teammate Chris Gayle was the drawcard among the invited personalities.

National team captain Brendan Taylor, who won the biggest awards for the Cricketer of the Year and Batsman of the Year, is back in the running for the top two accolades again this year.

He was nominated for the Cricketer of the Year alongside Hamilton Masakadza and fast bowler Brian Vitori.

Masakadza and Tino Mawoyo will also be vying for the Batsman of the Year award.

This year's awards will have two new categories, namely the People's Choice Award and the Players' Choice Award.

Cricket fans have been given an opportunity to nominate players of their choice through various media platforms like Tweeter, Facebook and electronic mail.

List of nominees

Cricketer of the Year: Hamilton Masakadza, Brian Vitori, Brendan Taylor

Batsman of the Year: Brendan Taylor, Tino Mawoyo, Hamilton Masakadza

Bowler of the Year: Brian Vitori, Elton Chigumbura, Kyle Jarvis

Rookie of the Year: Richard Mutumbami, Kevin Kasuza, Richard Muzhange

Most Promising Cricketer of the Year: Tino Mutombodzi, Kevin Kasuza, Richard Muzhange

Coach of the Year: David Houghton, David Mutendera, Gary Brent

Scorer of the Year: Freeman Chigovera, Luke Chiwara, Robina Muzunguzika

Umpire of the Year: Owen Chirombe, Langton Rusere

Female Cricketer of the Year: Ashley Ndiraya, Josephine Nkomo, Modester Mupachikwa

Most Promising Female Cricketer of the Year: Modester Mupachikwa, Nomatter Mutasa, Loreen Tshuma

Best Schools Cricketer: Ryan Burl, Malcolm Lake, Luke Jongwe

Copyright © 2012 The Herald. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.