9 November 2012

Namibia: 2012 Beach Volleyball Series Comes to an End

The last tournament of the DTS Maerua SUPERSPAR Beach Volleyball 2012 series took place on Saturday in very hot weather conditions.

The tournament saw seven four-a-side teams, nine junior girl teams, six ladies teams and 18 individual players participating. Five teams from Zimbabw also took part adding spice to the tournament.

The junior ladies category, sponsored by Windhoek Canopy Centre, had six local teams and three teams from Zimbabwe taking part. Maria Gomo and ChristinaCheenye from Zimbabwe reached the semi finals where they beat Jana Rumpf and Carmen Curschmann in two sets.

In the other semi final match, Stephanie Palmhert and Kim Seebach beat Julia Krafft and Bianca Kasch 2-1 to reach the finals. In the finals, played under floodlights, the Zimbabwean team easily won the first set but Palmhert and Seebach used their home advantage to win the second set. In the decisive third set, the local team made fewer mistakes in a match played under windy conditions to win the set 15-10 and their second title of the year. Third place went to Krafft/Kasch.

In the ladies category, six teams played 15 matches in a round robin system. Five matches had to be decided in three set games making this category the most competitive. Winning all matches, Wiebke Hoeritzauer and Antje Kesselmann drove away with a sedan car sponsored by KIA Motors. The Zimbabwean duo of Viola Muchaona and Christine Manyanya came second while third place went to Teja Lueck and Elina Vejo.

The men and the two-a-side social divisions were played in a King/Queen/Prince of the Beach format in which every player teamed up with different partners to determine the best individual player.

In the Men's King of the Beach, Peter Brinkmann, Nyashadzashe Takawira (ZIM), Abidan (ZIM) and Youth player, Bernhard Schurz qualified for the finals. In the end, the two Zimbabwean players gained equal points sharing first place while Schurz finished third.

The Prince (Youth and Social two-a-side) competition attracted eight players. Top players of the day were Mark Brinkmann, Michael Sickel, Paul Munting and Bjoern Baas. Brinkmann and Sickel were tied on points, but a decisive three set match saw Brinkmann gaining the lead and finishing 10 points ahead of Sickel. Third place went to Paul Munting.

The four-a-side social category had seven teams battling for the title in a round robin format. Last tournament winners Cats and Dogs were unbeaten once again, winning their fouth tournament of the year. Second position went to the team "The Other Guys" while "Mean Machine" came third.

Copyright © 2012 Namibia Economist. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.