9 November 2012

Kenya: Government Preparing Policy On East Africa Integration

Prime Minister Raila Odinga's office is preparing a policy strategy and framework for integration in the East African Community. A task force from his office has been going round the country collecting views.

It is expected to come up with a report on what Kenyans feel about the integration. The integration involves five countries, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia and Burundi.

Policy analyst Augustus Muluvi who is a member of the task force says the public's involvement will help to address emerging issues in the integration process. Member states will adopt a single currency.

Copyright © 2012 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.