11 November 2012

Eritrean National Cycling Team Become African Champions for the Third Consecutive Time

Photo: Madote
Eritrean cyclists: The team have won a total of 21 medals over the past three years in the sport.

Asmara — In the African Cycling Championship 2012 conducted in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, Natnael Berhane stood first and Firekalsi Debesai third and that the Eritrean national cycling team became African champion for the third consecutive year.

Last year's African champion Natnael Berhane skipped from the main group along with South African rider Jay Thompson during the two remaining lapses and from the bounce he made in the last 500 meters he won a gold medal and that he got big applause from cycling fans and especially from residents of Ouagadougou.

Firekalsi Debesai also won bronze medal.

Reports from the competition indicate that the role cyclist Berket Yemane played for the victory of the national team was significant.

It is to be recalled that in the Championship the Eritrean national team won gold medal in the road race and in the individual chronometer race through Daniel Teklehaimanot.

Copyright © 2012 Shabait.com. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.