14 November 2012

Rwanda: Pair Bundled Out of Burundi ITF Futures

RWANDAN pair of Jean Claude Gasigwa and Dieudonné Habiyambere was sent packing in the first round of the International Tennis Federations (ITF) Men's Futures (Burundi F1 Futures) on Tuesday at the Entetive Sportive courts in Bujumbura.

According to Rwanda tennis federation boss Théoneste Karenzi, Gasigwa was the first to exit the tournament after losing to seventh seed Lucas Zweili of Switzerland 6-2 6-1 in straight sets.

Habiyambere followed his colleague displaying poor performance losing to seed five Kaza Vinayak Sharma of India 6-0 6-2 in straight sets.

Uganda's upcoming talent David Oringa was also kicked out of the tournament after he lost to USA's Michael-Ray Pallares-Gonzalez 6-2 6-1 respectively.

The Rwandan pair was hoping to use this tournament to fully prepare for the second leg of the ITF Futures due to be held in Kigali later this month.

Last month, the 29-year-old Gasigwa was lauded for his improved mental fortitude; evident by the way he bounced back from a set down to eventually beat Habiyambere 4-6, 6-3, 6-3 in the final of the ITF/CAT Money Circuit.

As they now aim to stage a good display in the Kigali edition, focus will be on Gasigwa who will be looking to match Eric Hagenimana's quarter-final appearance back in 2006.

Hagenimana, who is now based in the US, defied the odds to reach the last eight only to lose to France's Maxime Bonami 6-2, 5-7, 4-6.

Last year, Gasigwa suffered a first round exit after losing to Great Britain's Ross-Hurt Dominic 3-6, 5-7 and will be hoping to better that display starting with the first leg in Bujumbura.

After Burundi leg, players will turn focus to Kigali for the second leg which is slated to run from November 19 -25 followed by the third leg (Rwanda F2 Futures) from November 26 - December 2.

Both the second and third legs will attract over 50 players in contention for the grand prize of (US$ 10.000).

Burundi ITF Futures

1st Round

Lucas Zweili (Switzerland) def. J. Gasigwa (Rwanda) 6-2 6-1

Kaza Vinayak Sharma (India) def. D. Habiyambere (Rwanda) 6-0 6-2

Michael Gonzalez (USA) def. D. Oringa (Uganda ) 6-2 6-1

Copyright © 2012 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.