17 November 2012

Kenya: Finally the Rally Is On Tomorrow

The fast and furious man and machine game peaks tomorrow with the KCB Guru Nanak Rally

The long wait is over. The 33rd KCB Guru Nanak Rally takes off tomorrow in Suswa and Kedong bringing down the curtains to what has been a fast and furious affair of the "man and machine" game.

The rally will be flagged off outside the KCB Kikuyu Branch from 8am after which cars will head to Mai-Mahiu and onward to the rally course.

Leaving the ramp first is Peter Horsey from Mombasa followed by Quentin Mitchell. Quentin and Peter are the fastest youngsters in Kenya today with the former finishing third in this year's Safari and the former second in the Mombasa Rally.

This year's KNRC has proven to be one of the most competitive on record with all the top drivers in identically powered group "N" cars and often only a few seconds separating them after hundreds of kilometers of competitive driving.

In the 2012 season, all titles have been sealed, save for the Kenya National Rally Championship Division Two which is a three-horse race pitting leader Izhar Mirza against Don Smith and Manvir S. Baryan.

With the 2013 KNRC decided the top drivers are looking to have a bit of fun, displaying pace in bids to achieve better stage times.

KNRC 2012 Championship winner Carl "Flash" Tundo is swapping navigators, replacing his dad with sister Tash.

"It will be interesting to see if it makes any difference," joked Flash adding: " I am not sure navigators do much anyway!"

Adin Haq and Joost Zuurbier will be among other Cross Country Raid bigwigs lined up with Eric Bengi (Land Rover Discovery) and Nish Lakhani in his Raid championship winning contraption named "Kenya Cat". It is one of the non-homolagated cars in the event.

Foreigners Tapio Laukannen and Jas Mangat are the men anticipated to push Kenyan big guns among them Tundo, Cavenagh, Ian Duncan and Baldev Chager all the say.

Tapio, from Finland won the 1996 Finish Rally Championship as well as the British Rally in 1999.

The 2WD has over 15 entries despite defending Guru Nanak Rally winner Adnan Suhail withdrawing due to work commitments.

Jassi Chathe from Kisumu has already won the KNRC Division Three championship and will be going for a top 10 position as he has always done this season.

Group "S" newly crowned champion Jazzy Chana will be navigated by his brother Ravi in their ex-works Toyota Celica GT4. Aslam Khan, the 2012 Classic Car Cup champion will drive the only Porche 911 hoping to rack up points.


1. Peter Horsey/Bella Erskine (EVOX); 2. Quentin Mitchell/Robin Dimbleby (Subaru N16); 3. Baldev Chager/Raju Sehmi (Subaru N16); 4. A. Cavenagh/G. Laurence (Evo9); 5. Carl Tundo/Tash Di Cangio (Evo9); 6. Ian Duncan/A. Slatch (Evo9); 7. Alex Horsey/Nick Dames (Datsun p/u); 8. Azar Anwar/Julius Ngige (Evo8); 9. Jas Mangat/Ravi Soni (Subaru N12); 10. Tapio Laukkanen/Harri Kaapro (Subaru); 11.Raaji Bharij/Geoff Mayes (Evo9); 12. Onkar Rai/R. Chagger (Subaru); 13. Jassy Chathe/Gugu Panesar (Evo9); 14. Izhar Mirza/Zahir Shah (Evo9); 15. Imran Mogul/A. Kochhar (Subaru); 16. Frank Tundo/Tim Jessop (Evo9); 17. Manvir Baryan/Nicolas Klinger (Subaru N16); 18. Don Smith/Bob Kaugi (Subaru); 19. Anwar Pandya/Ken Masoni (Subaru); 20. Charles Hinga/Noriss Ongalo (Evo7); 21. Anthony Tibo/Kavit Dave (Subaru) 22. Jaswinder Chana/Ravi Chana (Toyota Celica GT4); 23. John Nganga/James Mwangi (Subaru); 24. Tejvir Rai/G. Mwangi (Subaru N16); 25. Jasmeet Chana/Rohit Bhudia (Toyota Celica GT4); 26. Asad Anwar (Subaru N16); 27. Farhaaz Khan/K. Henrie (Subaru); 28. Aakif Virani/Azar Bhatti (Subaru N16); 29. Nishit Shah/Darshan Shah (Subaru); 30. John Muigai/Allan Muhindi (Subaru); 31. Mahesh Halai/Ketan Halai (Subaru); 32. Hussein Malik/S. Njenga (Subaru) 33. Asad Khan/Imran Khan (Subaru Legacy); 34. Alasdair Keith/Tarik Malik (Subaru); 35. Nzioka Waita/Laban Cliff (Subaru) 36. Imran Mughal/Samir Khan (Subaru); 37. Michelle Van Tongeren/Safina Khan (Subaru); 38. Jonathan Somen/Richard Heckle (Ford E. MK2); 39. Mohamed Noormohamed/Hassan Saleh (Subaru); 40. Jasminder Bharij/Guv Dekelver (Evo9); 41. Aslam Khan/Arshad Khan (Porsche 911); 42. Nish Lakhani/Teeku Patel (Land Rover hybrid); 43. Adin Haq/Stuart Cohen (Range Rover Bowler); 44. Devan Bhundia/Pevit Kent (Subaru Legacy); 45. Khalfan Athman/A. Athman (Subaru N11); 46. Joel Muchiri/Riyaz Ismail (Subaru gc8); 47. Edward Maina/Tonny Kimondo (Toyota Celica); 48. Muzamil Mir/J. Matharu (Datsun 180B); 49. Rommy Bhamra/H. Jutley (Datsun 240Z); 50. Hardev S. Sira/J. Ghataure (Ford Escort Mexico); 51. Samira Khan/Chantel Young (Ford Escort); 52. Rashid Kabi/Nehreen Ismail (Subaru gc8); 53. Gurmit Thethy/D. Kalsi (VW Golf GTI); 54. Dennis Mwenda/Edward Njoroge (Toyota Sprinter GT); 55. Harpreet Sagoo/Harvinder Dhanjal (Subaru); 56. Stanley Thuo/Eric Nzuva (Subaru); 51. Rajbir Rai/Supee Soin (Datsun 240Z); 58. Leo Varese/Kigo Kareithi (VW Golf GTI); 59. Dalbir Thethy/Julius Mwachuya (Toyota Conquest); 60. Victor Okundi/ T. Mionki (Toyota Vitz); 61. Joan Nesbitt/T. Jones (Toyota Tercel); 62. Sammy Nyorri/W. Kairu (Toyota Vitz); 63. Arthur Kinyanjui/Mathew Kuria (Subaru N10); 64.Daren Miranda/Imran R. Khan (Subaru Leon); 65. Stella Macharia/Helen Shiri (Subaru); 66. Jeff Mburu/R. Muriuki (Toyota Levin); 67. Mike Mwangi/Evans Mwenda (Mitsubishi Evo8); 68. Andrew Muchemi (Subaru); 69. Gurpal Sandhu/P. Gandamal (EvoX); 70. Minesh Rathod/S. Sumaria (Subaru); 71. Sucky Parma/Kashif Sheikh (Subaru); 72. Rashminder Bhabra/Kyle Lucas (Subaru); 73. Fraukje Eline Vooijs/P. Pereira (Evo4); 74. Imraan Khan/Sonam Ranjani (Subaru); 75. Eric Bengi/Mindo Gatimo (Land Rover); 76. Joost Zuurbier/Shameer Yusuf (Land Rover turbo); 77. Charan Thethy/Viney Shah (Daewoo Cielo); 78. Caroline Gatimu/Linet Ayuko (VW Golf GTI); 79. Phyllis Wambui/Steven Nyorri (Toyota Levin); 80. Savraj Bhui/Navraj Sagoo (VW Golf); 81. Nicholas Patel/Andy McDonnell (Mercedes Benz); 82. Dalgit Virdee/ John Ngugi (Subaru Leone p/u).

Copyright © 2012 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.