20 November 2012

Kenya: Smith Kaugi Div 2 Aces

Subaru Impreza duo profit from Mirza and Baryan's misfortune Don Smith and his navigator Bob Kaugi relished the Kenya National Rally Championship Division Two title victory as the 2012 season came to a dramatic conclusion in Suswa and Kedong.

The Subaru Impreza N12b duo, however, had their campaign effectively sewn up when Izhar Mirza and Manvir Singh Baryan failed to master the rockery of the Sikh Union organised 33rd KCB Guru Nanak Rally.

Don Smith wins the Division Two title with 485 points while Izhar settles for second on 405. Manvir wraps up his 2012 season on 390. The KNRC Division Two title has exchanged hands between Manvir, Izhar and Smith, but Kaugi reckons strategy was the key to the great effort.

"Knowing of the rough, our strategy was to go into it slowly because we knew Manvir and Izhar would push harder and break for the car. So we wanted to go slowly then push for a win but when we heard of their exit we were smiling all the way. Its been a very tight year," said Kaugi.

Asked of their new strategy in the new season, Kaugi continued: "We have a new car. We have an N16 which we are going to practice with through December and see how it goes," Kaugi said.

Meanwhile, the 33rd Guru Nanak Rally-staged on the floor of the great Rift Valley around Suswa and Kedong- was unique in many ways.

For one, it went down in folklore as perhaps the roughest and toughest since its inception in 1973. One aspect which captivated all and sundry was the fact it was headlined by family bond and success.

With most of the titles having been sealed at the penultimate Eldoret round and the rough nature of terrain, focus was about reliability and survival.

The 2WD class was perhaps the most stunning of them all as it registered a paltry two finishers these being the Thethy siblings Charan and Dalbir.

Charan won the 2WD class in a time of 2.38.49 eclipsing his younger brother Dalbir by a 3.43 margin. Dalbir's nephew Gurmit Thethy failed to master the terrain. "I retired after breaking the rear axle on the VW Golf just 3 kilometers to the finish of the 57kms CS2," said Gurmit. Carl Tundo and his sister Tash Di Cangio became the first ever brother and sister pair to win a round of the KNRC.

Final results Guru Nanak Rally:

1. Carl Tundo/Tash Di Cangio (Evo9) 1.38.10

2. Baldev Chager/Raju Sehmi (Subaru N16) 1.40.46

3. Azar Anwar/Julius Ngigi (Evo8) 1.43.23

4. Jas Mangat/Ravi Soni (Subaru N12) 1.43.50

5. Onkar Rai/R. Chagger (Subaru) 1.46.44

6. Quentin Mitchell/Robin Dimbleby (Subaru N16) 1.47.24

7. Raaji Bharij/Geoff Mayes (Evo9) 1.48.16

8. Jassy Chathe/Gugu Panesar (Evo9) 1.48.58

9. Don Smith/Bob Kaugi (Subaru) 1.58.02

10. Mike Mwangi/Evans Mwenda (Mitsubishi Evo8) 2.00.46

11. Anwar Pandya/Ken Masoni (Subaru) 2.02.43

12. Joost Zuurbier/S. Yusuf (Land Rover) 2.04.05

13. Hussein Malik/S. Njenga (Subaru) 2.05.47

14. Nish Lakhani/Teeku Patel (Land Rover hybrid) 2.06.30

15. Farhaaz Khan/Keith Henrie (Subaru) 2.09.26

16. Asad Khan/I. Khan (Subaru) 2.11.48

17. Aslam Khan/Arshad Khan (Porsche 911) 2.12.55

18. Alasdair Keith/Tarik Malik (Subaru) 2.13.04

19. Jaswinder Chana/Ravi Chana (Toyota Celica GT4) 2.13.44

20. Charles Hinga/Noriss Ongalo (Evo7) 2.14.37

21. Nzioka Waita/Laban Cliff (Subaru) 2.18.15

22. Rommy Bhamra/H. Jutley (Datsun 240Z) 2.18.48

23. Mahesh Halai/K. Halai (Subaru) 2.18.52

24. Anthony Tibo/Kavit Dave (Subaru) 2.22.26

25. Imran Mughal/Samir Khan (Subaru) 2.23.36

26. Devan Bhundia/Pevit Kent (Subaru Legacy) 2.28.38

27. Muzamil Mir/J. Matharu (Datsun 180B) 2.34.20

28. Fraukje Eline Vooijs/P. Pereira (Evo4) 2.37.47

29. Charan Thethy/Viney Patel (Daewoo Cielo) 2.38.49

30. Dalbir Thethy/Julius Mwachuya (Toyota Conquest) 2.42.31

Copyright © 2012 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.