23 November 2012

Rwanda: Mutarambirwa and Sebanani Dropped

MIDFIELDERS Djabir Mutarambirwa and Aphrodis Hategikimana, and striker Emmanuel Sebanani have been dropped as coach Milutin 'Micho' Sredojovic named his final squad for the Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup which starts tomorrow in Kampala, Uganda.

Others axed include Olivier Kwizera (Isonga), Frederick Ndaka (Police), Aimable Niyikiza (SC Kiyovu), Farouk Ruhinda (APR), Pappy Sibomana (Isonga) and Gahonzire Olave (SC Kiyovu).

"We assessed each player on equal grounds and the final squad was named after several discussions with my technical team. We needed the best 20 players and I believe we picked the best to represent the country," Micho told Times Sport.

He added, "The players that have not made the cut should not give up but work hard for future competitions, they need to stay focused and not lose hope."

In the final squad, Micho named nine players under the age of 20.

In their last warm-up match at Amahoro stadium, Amavubi thrashed a select side from APR and Isonga teams 4-1. Dady Birori scored a brace while Mutarambirwa and Fabrice Twagizimana scored one apiece.

The Amavubi team arrived in Kampala yesterday. The team has been booked in Sports View Hotel, a few meters from Nambole Stadium.

Rwanda are drawn in Group C alongside Malawi, Zanzibar and Eritrea, and open their campaign on November 26 against the Flames (Malawi) followed by clashes with Zanzibar (Nov. 29) and Eritrea (Dec. 1).

Meanwhile, the Confederation African Football (CAF) President Issa Hayatou arrived in Uganda yesterday alongside his General Secretary Hicham El Amrani, who has been in office since September.

Hayatou will attend the Cecafa Congress today at Serena Hotel and also watch subsequent matches of the tournament that starts on Saturday at Namboole Stadium.

All matches will be live on SuperSport East.

Amavubi team:

Jean Claude Ndoli, Jean Luc Ndayishimiye, Marcel Nzarora, Emery Bayisenge, Ismail Nshutiyamagara, Fabrice Twagizimana, Michel Rusheshangoga, Hamdan Bariyanga, Mwemere Girinshuti, Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza, Haruna Niyonzima, Tumaine Ntamuhanga, Jean d'Amour, Imran Nshimiyimana, Charles Tibingana, Jean Iranzi, Jimmy Mbaraga, Jérôme Sina, Dady Birori and Barnabé Mubumbyi.

Group C fixtures

Nov. 26

Zanzibar vs Eritrea

Rwanda vs Malawi

Nov. 29

Malawi vs Eritrea

Rwanda vs Zanzibar

Dec. 1

Malawi vs Zanzibar

Eritrea vs Rwanda

Copyright © 2012 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.