23 November 2012

Rwanda: Team UCC's Kudus Takes Yellow Jersey

TEAM UCI Continental Center teenage rider Melhawi Kudus has taken over the Yellow Jersey from Lill Daren of Team South Africa after finishing yesterday's stage five in second place.

The 18-year old Eritrean used a time of 03h21'39"41 from Muhanga to Musanze (126,5km) to finish behind Habte Solomon, who clocked 03h21'39".

Overnight leader Lill Daren finished a distant 9th in a time of 03h22'22", which relegated him into second place on the general classification, 25 seconds behind the new leader.

Kudus, who is making his Tour du Rwanda debut with his South African based Team UCC, jumped from fourth position to take over the Yellow Jersey ahead of a strong field of more experienced riders.

However, it wasn't a good day for Rwanda's top rider, Adrien Niyonshuti, who, yesterday, finished 16th hence dropping from 5th to 9th position after the fifth stage of the 2012 Tour du Rwanda cycling race.

But he is still wearing the Green Jersey for being the top Rwandan rider in the competition. He fell 3 minutes and 2 seconds behind tour leader Kudus.

Kudus goes into today's stage six, Musanze-Rubavu (60,5km) wearing the Yellow Jersey. Team South African is still ahead on the teams' classification.

Other top performing Rwandans include Nicodem Habiyambere, who finished 26th yesterday but won the Red Jersey for the best climber, dropped two places from 12th to 14 on the general classification with a time of 14h37'36" and on number 18 is Emmanuel Rudahunga, who dropped from 15th using 14h41'39" with three stages to go.

Stage five classification

1. H. Solomon (Team AS.BE) 03h21'39"

2. M. Kudus (Team UCC) 03h21'39"41

3. D. Aron (Team AS.BE) 03h22'20"

4. L. Julien (Team Reine Blanche) 03h22'20"41"'

5. N. Muya (Team Ken) 03h22'20"41"'


13. G. Hategeka (Team Akagera) 03h24'16"

16. A. Niyonshuti (Team Kalisimbi) 03h24'19"

17. JB. Nsengiyumva (Team Akagera) 03h24'20"

19. B. Uwizeyimana (Team Akagera) 03h28'32"

20. N. Byukusenge (Team Kalisimbi) 03h28'32"

25. J. Biziyaremye (Team Kalisimbi) 03h28'47"

26. N. Habiyambere (Team Akagera) 03h28'47"

27. E. Rudahunga (Team Kalisimbi) 03h28'47"

28. H. Rukundo (Team Akagera) 03h28'47"

30. A. Ruhumuriza (Team Kalisimbi) 03h28'47"

31. J. Hadi (Team Kalisimbi) 03h 28'47"

General Classification

1. M. Kudus (ERI) 14h32'43"

2. L. Daren (RSA) 14h33'08"

3. W. Shaun (RSA) 14h33'15"

4. A. Alem (ERI) 14h33'55"

5. L. Julien (FRA) 14h34'30"

9. A. Niyonshuti (RWA) 14h35'45"

Other Rwandans

14. N. Habiyambere 14h37'36"

18. E. Rudahunga 14h41'39"

18. H. Gasore 14h41'39"

21. N. Byukusenge14h41'57"

22. A. Ruhumuriza14h 42'14"

23. H. Rukundo 14h41'39"

27. J. Biziyaremye 14h46'36"

30. JB. Nsengiyumva 14h56'37"

40. B. Uwizeyimana 14h59'35"

41. J. Hadi 15h06'36"

Copyright © 2012 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.