23 November 2012

Kenya: Gor Top Show

Gor Mahia were the biggest beneficiaries at the annual Kenya Premier League Footballer of the Year Awards, scooping four prizes out of the 10 categories available.

Ugandan Dan Serunkuma picked the coveted Footballer of the Year Award and Sh200,000 prize money after emerging the best player in the 2012 KPL season ahead of KCB's Mungai Kiongera and AFC Leopards' Mike Barasa.

Serunkuma added two more awards to his heist as he finished second in the Fair Play category and in the race for the Golden Boot, adding Sh150,000 to his total purse.

"I am grateful to my team-mates, my coach and fans for their support throughout the season. I look forward to playing for Gor again next year and hopefully win the league title at the end," said Serunkuma.

The biggest cheers were, however, reserved for Gor's Croatian coach Zdravko Logarusic who picked the Coach of the Year award and Sh100,00. Midfielder Anthony Akumu upstaged Francis Kahata and Mungai Kiongera to take home the Midfielder of the Year award.

Uganda Ivan Anguyo took the Defender of the Year award while young coaches Stanley Okumbi and John Kamau were also feted for their impressive roles in improving the fortunes of Mathare and Thika United respectively.

The biggest surprise, however, was in the 'Best Goalkeeper' category, where Tusker keeper Boniface Oluoch pipped Gor's Jerim Onyango to land the award for the top shot stopper in the country.

Whistler Nassur Doka retained his referee of the year crown as female ref Damaris Kimani failed to make it into the top three despite her composure when handling high pressure games, particularly the final match in the KPL, pitting Gor and Thika United.

Jane Cherono was the only female feted at the male dominated event, picking the third place award in the assistant referee category.

The winners in every category received Sh100,00 while the runners-up took home Sh75,000 with the third-placed finisher pocketing Sh50,000. The overall FOYA award winner pocketed Sh200,000.


Footballer of The Year

1.Danny Serunkuma (Gor)

2.Mungai Kiongera (KCB)

3.Mike Barasa (AFC)

Golden Boot

1.John Baraza(18goals)-Sofapaka

2.Danny Serunkuma(17goals)-Gor

3.Rama Salim(12 goals)-Gor

3. Evans Amuoka(12 goals)-ULinzi

3.Kepha Aswani(12goals)-Thika

Coach of the Year

1.Zdravko Logarusic (Gor)

2.John Kamau (Thika)

3.Stanley Okumbi (Mathare)

Fair Play (team)


2.ULinzi Stars

3.Muhoroni Youth

Fair Play (player)

1. John Baraza (Sofapaka)

2. Dan Serunkuma (Gor)

3.Obadiah Ndege (Tusker)

Goalkeeper of the Year

1.Boniface Oluoch (Tusker)

2.Jerim Onyango (Gor)

3.Ben Roberts Mandela (W. Stima)

Defender of the Year

1.Ivan Anguyo (Gor)

2Joakins Atudo (Tusker)

3.Eugene ASike (Sofapaka)

Midfielder of the Year

1.Anthony Akumu (Gor)

2.Francis Kahata (Thika)

3.Paul Kiongera (KCB)

New Player of the Year

1.Abbey Natty (Muhoroni)

2.Hussein Zinda (Karuturi)

3.Edmond Murai (Oserian)

Referee of the Year

1.Nasur Doka

2.Davies Omweno

3.Tom Onyango

Assistant ref of the Year

1.Gilbert Cheruiyot

2. Mike Mwangi

3. Jane Cherono

Team manager of the Year

1.Josephat Okal (KCB)

2.George Maina (Thika)

3.William Muluhya (Mathare)

Copyright © 2012 The Star. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.