24 November 2012

Rwanda: Daren Reclaims Yellow Jersey

South Africa rider Lill Daren yesterday reclaimed the Yellow Jersey from Merhawi Kudus after winning stage seven Rubavu - Kigali.

The 30-year-old South African clocked 04h13'39" from Rubavu to Kigali (156.4km), and takes his time to 20h09'31" on the general classification.

The Team South Africa key riser guy goes into today's final stage (eight) wearing not only the coveted Yellow Jersey but also the White, Yellow and Red Jersey for winning the stage as well as the Black and Yellow Jersey for the best African rider.

Team UCI Continental Center teenage rider Melhawi Kudus lost the Yellow Jersey after finishing 8th in 4h20'31. He dropped from 2nd to 6th position on the general classification with 20h15'18".

Team Kalisimbi rider Abraham Ruhumuriza, 16th on general classification, was Rwanda's top finisher on stage seven in 9th position in a time of 04h21'29".

The county's s top rider, Adrien Niyonshuti finished a distant 19th yesterday but kept his 10th position on the general classification after 770.5km of the 2012 Tour du Rwanda cycling race

The MTN Qubeka rider is still wearing the Blue Jersey for being the top Rwandan rider in the competition. He fell 10 minutes and 30 seconds behind leader Daren.

The tour ends today with the 8th and final stage when riders head to Rwamagana and back to Kigali, covering 124.3km.


Stage 8: Kigali-Rwamagana-Kigali

Stage seven classifications

1. L. Daren (Team S.A) 04h13'39"

2. N. Aron (Team AS BE.CO) 04h13'40"

3. N. Muya Team Ken) 04h13'13"42"

4. G. Dylan (Team S.A) 04h13'45"

5. A. Getachew (Team Eth) 04h13'45"06


9. A. Ruhumuriza (Team Kalisimbi) 04h21'29"

15. E. Rudahunga (Team Kalisimbi) 04h21'29"

19. J. Biziyaremye (Team Kalisimbi) 04h21'44"

19. A. Niyonshuti (Team Kalisimbi) 04h21'44"

21. H. Rukundo (Team Akagera) 04h22'03"

22. N. Byukusenge (Team Kalisimbi) 04h22'03"

24. G. Hategeka (Team Akagera) 04h24'00"

26. J. Hadi (Team Kalisimbi) 04h 26'53"

28. JB. Nsengiyumva (Team Akagera) 04h37'57"

32. N. Habiyambere (Team Akagera) 04h42'11"

38. B. Uwizeyimana (Team Akagera) 04h43'13"

46. J. Mbarushimana (Team Akagera) 04h52'04

General Classification

1. L. Daren RSA 20h09'31"

2. A. Getachew 20h11'10"

3. G. Dylan 20h11'27"

4. J. Muya Joroge 20h11'27"

5. D. Aron 20h12'02"

6. M. Kudus 20h15'18"

10. A. Niyonshuti 20h20'13"

Other Rwandans

13. H. Gasore 20h24'20"

15. E. Rudahunga 20h25'59"

16. A. Ruhumuriza20h 26'09"

17. N. Byukusenge20h27'22"

18. H. Rukundo 20h20'22"

27. J. Biziyaremye 20h31'04"

30. N. Habiyambere 20h47'34"

31. J. Hadi 20h56'13"

32. JB. Nsengiyumva 20h57'18"

35. B. Uwizeyimana 21h05'30"

Copyright © 2012 The New Times. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.