26 November 2012

Tanzania: Kikwete to Address Eala Plenary Session

PRESIDENT Jakaya Kikwete is expected to address the East African Legislative Assembly tomorrow, when the EALA starts its plenary.

An official statement from Mr Bobi Odiko, the Communications Officer with the regional parliament indicates that the East African Legislative Assembly will be resuming business this week by holding its plenary in Arusha where EALA has permanent base.

The plenary session which takes place from the 26th of November 2012, through to December 6, 2012, is the 3rd meeting of the 1st Session of the 3rd Assembly.

The President of the United Republic of Tanzania Mr Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete has thus been invited to address a Special Sitting of the Assembly on Tuesday, November 27, 2012 and to open the 3rd Meeting of the 1st Session at the new Chambers of the EAC new headquarters.

The Assembly to be presided by the Speaker, Dr Margaret Nantongo Zziwa, shall during the two-week period discuss over matters of legislative business. The Sitting expects to receive Bills from the Council of Ministers, receive and consider reports from various Committees of the Assembly and consider Motions and Questions brought before the House.

EALA Members shall also participate in the inauguration of the EAC headquarters on November 28, 2012 and subsequently the opening of the Arusha-Namanga-Athi River Road. All activities are to be graced by the Summit of the EAC Heads of State.

On November 29, 2012, EALA legislators shall join other stakeholders for the Infrastructure Retreat culminating in the Summit of the EAC Heads of State on November 30, 2012 in the Kenyan capital, Nairobi.

The East African Legislative Assembly is an organ of the East African Community; established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

Under the Treaty, the Assembly has a membership comprising nine members elected by each Partner State; ex-officio members consisting of the Minister or Assistant Minister responsible for the East African Community Affairs from each Partner State; the Secretary General and the Counsel to the Community.

Currently, the Assembly has 45 elected Members; and seven ex-officio members, bringing their total number to a membership of 52. Twenty of whom are female.

Copyright © 2012 Tanzania Daily News. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.