26 November 2012

Namibia: Tjongarero Re-Elected As NNOC President

AGNES Tjongarero was re-elected as president of the Namibia National Olympic Committee at its annual general meeting on Friday.

Tjongarero, who has led the organisation for more than two decades, was elected unopposed.

Also elected unopposed to the body were Joan Smit, who takes over as secretary general from Abner Xoagub; Monica Dahl as treasurer and Gaby Ahrens as the athletes’ representative on the NNOC board.

Frank Fredericks also retains his position on the NNOC board as the Athletes Commission chairman of the International Olympic Committee.

The six board members who retained their places after being voted in are Jesse Schickerling, Dawie Augustyn, Johan Knoetze, Quinton Steele Botes, Ndeulipula Hamutumwa and Abner Xoagub, who was re-elected as a normal board member.

The new candidates who challenged unsuccessfully for places on the NNOC board were Johan Kruger, Alna Similo, Adios Auchamub and Xavier Masule.

Copyright © 2012 The Namibian. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.