26 November 2012

Ghana: Commonwealth to Observe Elections in Ghana

press release

The Commonwealth will observe this year’s presidential and parliamentary elections in Ghana that will take place on 7 December, Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma announced today.

He said former Prime Minister Dr Bethuel Pakalitha Mosisili of Lesotho will lead the 13-member Commonwealth Observer Group.

Speaking in London after constituting the group, the Secretary-General said: “I want to thank Prime Minister Mosisili and all the other members of the group for accepting my invitation to undertake this important exercise on behalf of the Commonwealth.”

Mr Sharma expressed hope that the conduct of the December elections in Ghana will extend the country’s good track record and further deepen its democratic culture.

“We hope these elections will build on the elections of 2008, which the Commonwealth also observed, and that all sides will engage peacefully and constructively throughout.”

Mr Sharma constituted the Commonwealth Observer Group for the elections at the invitation of the Electoral Commission of Ghana.

The Group’s mandate is to observe and consider all aspects of the electoral process, assessing whether the elections are conducted according to the standards for democratic elections to which the country has committed itself. Where appropriate, the group can also make recommendations for future strengthening of the electoral framework. Commonwealth observers act impartially and independently, and conduct their business according to the standards expressed in the International Declaration of Principles for Election Observation, to which the Commonwealth is a signatory.

The Commonwealth Observer Group for Ghana will submit its report to the Secretary-General, who will in turn send it to the Government of Ghana, the Electoral Commission of Ghana, political parties and eventually to all Commonwealth governments.

A five-member team from the Commonwealth Secretariat led by Mark Stevens, Head of the Democracy Section in the Political Affairs Division, will support the group.

The group is expected to be in Ghana from 30 November to 14 December 2012.

The Commonwealth Observers include:

The Hon Dr Bethuel Pakalitha Mosisili

Former Prime Minister

Lesotho (Chair)

Ambassador Shahed Akhtar

Former Ambassador


Ms Rochelle Lashley

Youth Representative / Attorney-At-Law


Mrs Josephine Tamai

Chief Elections Officer


Justice Tom Foulds

Magistrate, Ontario Court of Justice


The Hon Dr Joseph Misoi

Orange Democratic Movement of Kenya


Ms Koki Muli Grignon

Constitutional Law and Elections Expert


Mr Alberto Francisco Manhique

Director, Electoral Observatory


Dr Emmanuel Terwar Akem

Director, Independent National Electoral Commission


Ms Cynthia Barrow-Giles

Lecturer and Member of the Constitutional Reform Commission, University of the West Indies

St Lucia

Mr Vuyisile Sikelela Hlatshwayo

National Director, Media Institute of Southern Africa


Mr Max Marshall Caller

Electoral Commissioner, Chair of Local Government Boundary Commission for England

United Kingdom

Mrs Priscilla Isaac

Director of Elections, Electoral Commission of Zambia


Copyright © 2012 Commonwealth News and Information Service. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.