30 November 2012

South Africa/Ghana: SA U17 Men Confident Ahead of 2nd Leg Qualifier in Ghana

The South African National Under 17 Men's National Team (Amajimbos) is confident of getting a positive result when they take on Ghana in the second leg, third round match of the Africa Youth Championship qualifier.

The match takes place on Saturday, 01 December 2012 at the Essipong Stadium in Ghana.

Kick-off is 15h00 local time in Ghana (17h00 SA time).

The South Africans have arrived safely and have already had one training session, with the final one scheduled for today (Friday, 30 November) at the match venue.

Amajimbos lost the first leg 3-2 in the first leg played two weeks ago at the Sinaba Stadium in Daveyton, Johannesburg.

But coach Ephraim 'Shakes' Mashaba is not very concerned.

"We are aware of the advantage the Ghanaians have but we don't want to dwell on the past. This is a new match for both teams.

"I have emphasised to my players to go out there and try to get a win. If we are determined and committed, results will take care of themselves. If Ghana managed to score three goals away from home, I don't see the reason why we can't do the same away from home. We have as much chance of qualifying as they do but we have to work for it," said Mashaba.

Mashaba has also cautioned his players not to be overawed by the home crowd.

"Fortunately we don't have any injuries and the boys are adjusting well to the hot and humid conditions here in Ghana. My players know what to expect in this crucial qualifier."

The overall winner of this encounter will qualify for the 10th Edition of the African U-17 Youth Championship scheduled to take place in Morocco from 13 - 27 April 2013.

Here is the SA U17 squad in Ghana:


Jody February

Ajax Cape Town FC


Sibongiseni Mkhize

Orlando Pirates FC


Rivaldo Coetzee

Ajax Cape Town FC


Ayabulela Magqwaka

Ajax Cape Town FC


Tshidiso Monamodi

Bidvest Wits FC


Thembinkosi Phiri

Bidvest Wits FC


Kabelo Seriba

Supersport United FC


Ricardo Ndiki Africa Sport Development


Sabelo Malunga

Orlando Pirates FC


Bongane Mathebula

Orlando Pirates FC


Sizwe Khumalo

Wits Junior


Morne Nel

Old Mutual Academy


Tshepo Mashigo

School of Excellence


Nhlakanipho Ntuli

Orlando Pirates FC


Bongani Khanyile

Orlando Pirates FC


Thamsanqa Masiya

Sundowns FC


Fagrie Lakay

Santos FC


Siyanda Ngcobo

Orlando Pirates FC


Elias Monene

Diambars Academy


Linda Bhengu

Amazulu FC

Copyright © 2012 South African Football Association. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.