2 December 2012

Nigeria: PDP Wins Soba LG Chairmanship Election in Kaduna State

The Kaduna State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM) on Sunday declared Alhaji Kawu Ibrahim-Yakasai of the PDP as the winner of Saturday's election for the chairmanship of Soba Local Government Council.

Malam Aliyu Haruna, the Returning Officer, said that Ibrahim-Yakasai of the PDP polled 62, 170 votes to defeat Alhaji Hassan Abdullahi of the CPC, who got 20, 143 votes

Haruna, who announced the result at Maigana, the headquarters of Soba Local Government Area, said that the PDP also won eight councillorship seats, while the CPC won one seat.

He, however, said that the councillorship result for Gimba Ward had been cancelled.


Copyright © 2012 Leadership. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.