3 December 2012

Namibia: New Blood in Swapo Central Committee

THE heads of some members of the Swapo Central Committee have rolled and the number of women in this structure increased by only one compared to the outcome of the 2007 congress.

A total of 16 women have been elected to the Central Committee, while ten members did not receive enough votes to be part of the second highest structure in the ruling party.

Those that are no longer CC members are Teopolina Mushelenga, Sackey Kayone, John Walenga, Marten Kapewasha, Grace Ushona, Elifas Dingara, Raphael Dinyando, Marlene Mungunda, Wilfred Emvula and Clara Bohitile.

Kapewasha, Ushona and Emvula are all on diplomatic postings outside the country.

The new ones elected are Pohamba Shifeta, David Namwandi, Erastus Uutoni, Pohamba Mandume, Peter Katjavivi, Veikko Nekundi, Hilma Nikanor, Lucia Witbooi, Eunice Iipinge and Martha Namundjebo-Tilahun.

Charles Namoloh and Katrina Hanse-Himarwa, who served on the Central Committee as part of President Hifikepunye Pohamba’s ten nominees, this time were elected to the body on their own. The other eight members appointed by Pohamba in 2007 did not make the final list.

Copyright © 2012 The Namibian. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.