2 December 2012

Morocco: Nation to Assume Rotating Security Council Presidency in December

Morocco is to assume the rotating presidency of the UN Security Council for December on Saturday.

Mohammed Loulichki, the permanent representative of Morocco to the United Nations, will take over the rotating council presidency from Hardeep Singh Puri, the Indian UN ambassador who holds the council presidency for November.

Loulichki is expected to brief the press here early next week on the work program of the Security Council for the next month.

Morocco is one of the 10 non-permanent members and the only Arab voice on the 15-nation UN body.

The Security Council presidency rotates among the Council members in the English alphabetical order of their names. Each president holds office for one calendar month.

The council has five permanent members - China, France, Russia, Britain and the United States - and 10 non-permanent members elected to two-year terms.

Some observers expect the December leading of Morocco, may help for accelerate the deliberations over two big files: Syrian Crisis and Mali-Sahel's security decline.

Copyright © 2012 Moroccan American Center for Policy. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.