7 December 2012

Namibia: Wet and Wild RC Races Let Fly for Champ Points

There were thrills and spills at the action packed last race of the 2012 SKW Radio Control season on Saturday which was unfortunately cut short due to a hailstorm. But despite the mud and pelting rain the guys pushed on to finish three qualifying races for all the classes, and a growing field of Buggy and Truggy classes this year bears testimony to the fact that RC racing is on the way up.

Wet conditions made racing quite challenging for these miniature 'dynamo's', but the tense atmosphere in the control tower was the driving force behind these high powered racing 'toys', and the guys pushing the buttons manoeuvred the cars at high speeds around the 300m track.

Competition in the class categories was fierce, and with some of the latest RC technology hot off the international circuits taking part, the dirt track became a hive of activity as the final Championship points were scored for 2012.

"We have experienced a fantastic season and look forward to next year again when we have scheduled 10 races for the 2013 Championships season," said Guido Koch (Chairperson SKW RC Cars Club).

"I would like to encourage more people to join us next year, and for those of you who have a radio control car lying around bring it out and join us adrenalin junkies for some great outdoor activity and entertainment for the whole family.

"A big thank you goes to all those competitors, organisers and supporters who made this year's RC racing such a success, and with what we have built on we are aiming to start with big bang next year.

"Congratulations to all the winners, and it was a tight championship this year."

Championship Results:

Monster Truck Senior:

1. Karl-Heinz Eisenberg - 119 Points

2. Michael Bader - 68 Points

3. Jürgen Koch - 59 Points

Monster Truck Junior:

1. Karl-Heinz Eisenberg - 57 Points

2. Heiko Brettschneider - 56 Points

3. Ralf Klein - 50 Points


1. Bazill van Rhyn - 92 Points

2. Dewaal Theunissen - 70 Points

3. Burgert Terblanche - 46 Points


1. Guido Koch - 91 Points

2. Paul Joubert - 73 Points

3. Pierre Gous - 72 Points

Copyright © 2012 New Era. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.