10 December 2012

Angola: Beginning of 3rd Session Marks Functioning of National Assembly

Luanda — The beginning of the 3rd parliament session of the National Assembly, resulting from the general elections of 31 August, marked, among other news, the functioning of the Angolan parliament in the year of 2012.

The new parliament session was opened on 27 September and it was marked by the return of Fernando da Piedade Dias dos Santos, who was elected speaker of the National Assembly, replacing António Paulo Kassoma.

The other change in the composition of the legislative organ is related to the entrance of a new political coalition of CASA-CE and exit of New Democracy party.

The parliament is comprised by MPs from five political parties and MPLA occupies 175 seats in the National Assembly.

Copyright © 2012 Angola Press Agency. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.