10 December 2012

Ghana: NDC Sweeps 16 of 23 Seats

Cape Coast — The Central Region, which has been a swing region in major elections in the country, on Friday tilted to the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC), which for the second time running won 16 out of 23 seats in the region.

However, two Ministers of state lost their seats to the opposition New Patriotic Party (NPP). The NDC increased its parliamentary seats from two in 2004 elections to 11 in 2008, which enabled its son, late President John Evans Atta Mills, assuming the highest office of the land.

The victory began in Cape Coast South and North Constituencies where NDC's Ricketts Kweku Hagan, a new face in the Metropolis garnered 22, 150 votes to beat New Patriotic Party (NPP) candidate, Alfred George Thompson, who got 19,206 ballots. There was a jamboree by supporters of the NDC in the constituency.

Convention People's Party (CPP) candidate, Ato Aidoo Nyanor polled 125 votes while the Progressive People's Party (PPP) Bright Edem Drovefenu had 782 votes.

Lawyer Ebo Barton Oduro, who doubles as Deputy Attorney General and Minister of Justice rose to the occasion with 21,189 votes, to overcome his NPP counterpart, Dr. Mrs. Henrietta Abane, who polled 19,558 votes in her attempt in the newly created constituency. Sarah Mary Bucknor of PPP managed 2,376 votes.

The Deputy Central Regional Minister, Thomas Aquinas Tawiah Quansah surmounted the fierce battle waged against him by former Information Minister in NPP regime, Stephen Asamoah Boateng at Mfantseman West with 31,838 votes, while Asamoah Boateng bagged 28,476 votes. Ernest K. Baiden of PPP managed to get 846 ballots, with UFP's Eugene A. Amanfu getting 103 while CPP's Bonventure W. Appiah polled 150 votes and Veronica Abu Boateng of National Democratic Party (NDP) received 69 votes.

However, The NDC had a shock when Deputy Trade and Industry Minister, Joseph Samuel Annan lost the Komenda-Edina- Eguafo-Abrem (KEEA) seat to Dr. Nana Ato Arthur of NPP, who polled 22, 151 votes against the deputy Minister's 13,962 votes.

Doreen Thomas Maniesen of PPP got 6,233 votes while Okatayi Nana Kweku Ackon of DPP gathered 142 votes. Dr Ato Quarshie, an NDC man who went Independent polled 15,561 votes and thus splitting the NDC vote to the detriment of the deputy minister.

Another NDC heavyweight, Mike Allen Hammer, Minister of Lands and Natural Resources was beaten at the Efutu Constituency by NPP's Alexander Afenyo -Markin who polled 19,062 votes while Hammer succumbed with 15,977 ballots. It was one of the surprises in the elections.

The Minister of Trade and Industry, Hannah Tetteh, managed 23, 082 votes to win the newly created Senya East Constituency, overcoming the threat posed by Oppey Abbey of NPP, who was former District Chief Executive of the area. Abbey polled 18,187 ballots.

At Abura Asebu Kwamankese (AAK) Constituency, NDC's Anthony Christian Dadzie polled 25, 295 votes to retain the AAK seat. His challenger, Job Acquah Markin of NPP had 17, 045 votes with PPP's Francis Eduakoh getting 2,687 ballots while CPP's Samuel Victor Odoom and People's National Convention (PNC) candidates Kwame Edu Ofori polled 208 and 110 votes respectively.

While on it, the NDC machine zoomed to Ekumfi where Abeiku Crentil of NDC garnered 16,615 votes to maintain NDC's invincibility in that constituency, as his main challenger, Francis Ato Cudjoe of NPP had 9,395 votes. Francis Atta Paine of PPP managed 333 ballots with Ahmad Kaleem Anderson of NDP getting 120 votes.

The NDC continued its winning spree at Ajumako-Enyan Esiam as the incumbent Member of Parliament Cassie Ato Forson retained the seat with 24,752 votes. His NPP challenger, Festus Beedu Turkson had 21,462 ballots with PPP's Jerry Henry Quansah getting 103 votes. Leonard Yakubu Essel Dadzie of CPP and Samuel Aggrey Forson claimed 446 and 174 votes respectively.

The winning phenomenon manifested at Gomoa East where the incumbent legislator, Ekow Panin O. Eduamoah, polled 18,538 votes as against NPP's Sam Quarm, who got 15,419 votes. Mohammed Issaka of PPP polled 335 votes. Godfred Kumedzro of CPP had 505 votes with John Amoasi of NDP polling 557 votes.

The newly created Gomoa Central was grabbed by the NDC young woman politician, Rachel Florence Appoh who won the seat with 15, 719 votes to beat her main contestant Edward N.K. Cudjoe of NPP. Cudjoe had 11,385 votes. Grace I. Appiah of PPP and Isaac Turkson of NDP polled 314 and 108 votes respectively.

The Agona West and East seats that had been occupied by the NPP over the years decided to change hands and gave Lawyer Charles Obeng Inkoom of NDC 30,168 votes to beat Samuel Obodai who polled 25, 997 in his fourth bid.

The Agona East seat was also snatched from the NPP candidate, John Agyabeng by Queenstar Pokua Sawyer who polled 22,689 votes his 18049.

The NDC also braved the odds to win the Asikuma-Odobeng Brakwa seat after years of occupation by the NPP. The DCE of the area, Mrs. Georgina Nkrumah Aboah beat her keen contender, Anthony Effah, the NPP candidate, to become the first woman legislator in the area.

The District Chief Executive of Lower-Hemang-Denkyira, Foster Andoh of NDC beat NPP candidate, Lawrence Agyensim, by 31 votes. Foster Andoh had 13178 with Lawrence Agyensim polling 13147. The results saw NDC winning 16 seats out of 23 seats of the region.

Copyright © 2012 Ghanaian Chronicle. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.