10 December 2012

North Africa: '5+5 Defence' Meeting Opens in Rabat

The 8th meeting of the "5+5 Defence" initiative opens on Monday (December 10th) in Rabat, APS reported. Algeria, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania and Tunisia, along with European partners Spain, France, Italy, Malta and Portugal, will sign a joint declaration on defence and security co-operation.

Founded in 2004, the "5+5" initiative includes regular dialogue and military drills by the armed forces of member states.

Copyright © 2012 Magharebia. All rights reserved. Distributed by AllAfrica Global Media (allAfrica.com). To contact the copyright holder directly for corrections — or for permission to republish or make other authorized use of this material, click here.

AllAfrica publishes around 2,000 reports a day from more than 130 news organizations and over 200 other institutions and individuals, representing a diversity of positions on every topic. We publish news and views ranging from vigorous opponents of governments to government publications and spokespersons. Publishers named above each report are responsible for their own content, which AllAfrica does not have the legal right to edit or correct.

Articles and commentaries that identify allAfrica.com as the publisher are produced or commissioned by AllAfrica. To address comments or complaints, please Contact us.